Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

conduit fill


Hi, I am installing a new meter base, 100 amp panel, and re-locating the laundry room.
I ran 100 amp 4 gauge? wire from the meter (underground) to the panel. I used 2" conduit where it comes out of the trench and into the house, and into the panel.
My question is, can I put other wires in the conduit with the 4 gauge? It would end up with the 3 conductors for the panel and a 12 gauge 2 conductor wire, and a 10 gauge 3 conductor wire.
This will get inspected and I want to get it right the first time.
Thanks in advance!

gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:19 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

conduit fill


Is this a just a meter you are starting at or is it a combo meter load center?

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:23 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

conduit fill


Also the 4 gauge wire is that AL or CU?

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:30 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Default

conduit fill


Sorry, Not a meter/LC combo. Meter is about 40' away from the panel. Wires are aluminum.
gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:34 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

conduit fill


#4 wire is only good for 65 amps and this is unfused conductors you can't run anything else in there from your meter.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-06-2013)
Old 02-06-2013, 10:34 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Default

conduit fill


Okay. The wire us #2 aluminum. It is fused at the meter with a 100 amp breaker.
gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

conduit fill


Table 310.15(B)(7) allows for #4 CU wire for a 100 amp service or #2 AL.

OP. Never try to pull cables into conduit. The 2" PVC conduit is plenty big enough. But you are never going to pull anything else over the wires you already pulled unless you are willing to sacrifice one of them..
Why would you need more wires in the service lateral anyway? You cannot feed the structure with more than one service/supply.
Why not be a bit more specific as to why you would want to add any wires to this service conduit.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:14 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Default

conduit fill


I was hoping to come back out of the panel with 2 circuits to feed my laundry (from the outside). I was hoping to put them back out the conduit that the #2 wires are in to save piping in more conduit.
The #2 wires are in a 2" conduit, which I believe is bigger than necessary.
Sorry for the confusion, it makes sense looking at it, but hard to explain.
gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:25 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

conduit fill


Quote:
Originally Posted by gogetter View Post
Okay. The wire us #2 aluminum. It is fused at the meter with a 100 amp breaker.
Once you pass the first disconnect you must go to a four wire feed with grounding at the disconnect and your building.

Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Table 310.15(B)(7) allows for #4 CU wire for a 100 amp service or #2 AL.

OP. Never try to pull cables into conduit. The 2" PVC conduit is plenty big enough. But you are never going to pull anything else over the wires you already pulled unless you are willing to sacrifice one of them..
Why would you need more wires in the service lateral anyway? You cannot feed the structure with more than one service/supply.
Why not be a bit more specific as to why you would want to add any wires to this service conduit.
Since this is past his first disconnect I don't think 310.15(B)(7) would apply here. And a four wire feed would be required.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:55 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Default

conduit fill


Thanks for your help. I quit being lazy and run another conduit for the additional wires. I'll also add a #6 copper ground wire back to meter, where the ground rods are.

gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit fill Sunny B. Electrical 10 10-25-2011 08:22 AM
Buried gas pipe in conduit WillK Plumbing 4 01-07-2011 12:50 PM
NEC- National Electric code 2008 Scuba_Dave Electrical 7 04-19-2010 04:41 PM
Need help with conduit fill calculations kornbln Electrical 6 07-28-2009 12:22 PM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 08:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.