Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2011, 05:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Conduit fill


Hey guys! How is everyone? I'm trying to understand something here. Today all we did was pull THHN through conduits. So out of curiosity(I never thought about it before today) I asked the guy that I was working with "How many wires can we fit in a one inch pipe", and he simply replied "22". So my next question was "wouldn't that change depending on the size of the wire? He couldn't answer me, so now I'm here asking you guys. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks guys!!

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Conduit fill


Wow I hope he is not the one in charge, common sense would tell you if you havebigger wires you will fit less wires in there. Pipe will change for the size of wire and also different insulations have different pipe fill. In Canada we can put 19 #12R90 in a 1", if you use T90 you can get 25 or 26 #12 in a pipe.

You should get a copy of the code book and check out the answer for yourself.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Conduit fill


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren
Wow I hope he is not the one in charge, common sense would tell you if you havebigger wires you will fit less wires in there. Pipe will change for the size of wire and also different insulations have different pipe fill. In Canada we can put 19 #12R90 in a 1", if you use T90 you can get 25 or 26 #12 in a pipe.

You should get a copy of the code book and check out the answer for yourself.
Where do I find it in the code?
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:42 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,932
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

Conduit fill


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Where do I find it in the code?
Annex C.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:45 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Conduit fill


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Annex C.
Don't give him the answer, he has to learn how to use the code book.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
SD515 (10-25-2011)
Old 10-24-2011, 10:52 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,072
Rewards Points: 2,938
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Conduit fill


You also need to read about derating. When you get over a certain number of wires in a conduit they can't carry their normal mount of current.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
SD515 (10-25-2011)
Old 10-24-2011, 11:27 PM   #7
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit fill


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Hey guys! How is everyone? I'm trying to understand something here. Today all we did was pull THHN through conduits. So out of curiosity(I never thought about it before today) I asked the guy that I was working with "How many wires can we fit in a one inch pipe", and he simply replied "22". So my next question was "wouldn't that change depending on the size of the wire? He couldn't answer me, so now I'm here asking you guys. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks guys!!
Not just the size of the wires, but the conduit as well. schedule 40 pvc and schedule 80 pvc have the same outside diameter. Since schedule 80 is thicker logic will tell you that the inside diameter is smaller. Smaller pipe means less wire
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 12:20 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,566
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Conduit fill


22? That # does not even show up in any of the tables that I have.

I know a lot of electricians who do contol systems are used to using mostly 14 AWG...but in a 1" conduit....I believe the max is somewhere around 39 wires....give or take a few.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 01:05 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Conduit fill


there three factors,wire size,insulation type and are you mixing wire gauge and or insulation.the tables tell you.like what was said learn to read code book.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:08 AM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Conduit fill


This is what I suggest to my workers….

Your training is your own responsibility. I am more apt to help you if you’ve helped yourself by looking through the code book first. Yes, there are times when we are working along and questions come up about the install that get answered briefly and we move on. But that doesn’t exempt the fact that you should look it up yourself. How do you know I’m right or wrong? I make mistakes too. Let’s discuss how your interpretation versus mine.

Take some of your lunch hour, an hour or 2 after dinner, on the weekend, whatever…sit down with the code book and review what you did that day, that week.

Maybe you worked with EMT all week…read Article 358. What applied to your install? What didn’t? What other articles come into play? What if you had to transition to a different wiring method? When you get ready to pull wire, how are you going to know how many you can put in each tube? What size do they need to be? Are you going to have to de-rate? Do you need more runs? What is the box fill(s) going to be?

Take it a little at a time. Don’t try to learn everything at once, but try to learn some every time. Most important, learn where to find it. Look over and read the index in the back. Learn the terminology the code uses versus the terminology you hear on the job site.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:22 AM   #11
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit fill


I think you should get a copy of Code Check Electrical to use along with the code book. It is broken down into 28 sections and has references to the NEC articles and tables. You could use it as a study guide and pick one section and study it.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 06:56 PM
NEC- National Electric code 2008 Scuba_Dave Electrical 7 04-19-2010 05:41 PM
Need help with conduit fill calculations kornbln Electrical 6 07-28-2009 01:22 PM
Sealing conduit coming into house encased with waterline pacamaroman Plumbing 3 06-18-2009 09:48 AM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 09:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.