Conduit For Cable And Phone - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


I purchased conduit for my electrical lines, schedule 40, for my garage. I want to run phone line and cable as well and I know I cannot run in the same conduit as my electrical. What kind of conduit would you use for phone and cable?

thanks
Brian

Advertisement

brjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


Another piece of schedule 40 should be sufficient.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:14 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


at least a foot to a foot and a half away from the power conduit, and if needing to be crossed, at perpendicular angles if at all possible.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 10:19 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


I never figure on such separation. They throw `em into the same trench together if direct buried for cryin' out loud!~
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 11:42 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
I never figure on such separation. They throw `em into the same trench together if direct buried for cryin' out loud!~
Well, I hate my phone humming in my ear. Unless one uses shielded cable or keeps the separation, it happens to often for my liking. Realistically, unless there is a serious power draw on the AC cable, it likely won't cause a problem but I hate digging even more than I hate a phone that hums so I just make sure they are separated.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 05:42 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


Jeez, I am glad I asked, I never knew that there could be problems with phone near the power. Thanks for the help, I am pretty sure I know which route to take.
brjl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 08:51 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Conduit for cable and phone


I have a wireless/cordless phone in my workshop - much easier than running a wire. But if you are running TV cable anyway, may as well add wire for phone.

Advertisement

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY phone junction box for cable telephone service eastie Electrical 5 06-17-2009 08:45 AM
phone problems AStott Electrical 13 06-07-2008 07:27 PM
Mutiple phone line needs an answering machine Densplace Electrical 5 04-04-2008 11:35 PM
Phone Jack Hookup Problem kennykenny Electrical 18 12-07-2007 04:48 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-18-2007 12:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts