Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 07:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Share |
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


I'd like to install a ceiling light in my kitchen and there is a convenient 1/2" x 1" gap that's covered by wood trim. So, I'm wondering if it is acceptable to run wire inside a conduit thru that gap as a way to wire a new light.

Btw, this isn't crown molding, just a couple of generic 3/4" wood trim pieces that meet at a right angle where the kitchen ceiling (standard drywall) meets up with a vaulted, exposed beam ceiling. The drywall doesn't go all the way to the edge of the trim (horizontal and vertical) which is the source of the gap.

Thanks.
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,513
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


Is this a one story building?
Far better to run it through the attic when ever possible. There's a good chance of hitting the wire with a nail.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Is this a one story building?
Far better to run it through the attic when ever possible. There's a good chance of hitting the wire with a nail.
It would be possible to go thru the ceiling, but a whole lot more work. So, at this point I'm just trying to get answers to the following:
1) Would it meet code requirements to run the wires in a conduit as stated
2) Assuming it is allowed, is it a good idea

Thanks for weighing in on point 2).
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:02 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


Got a picture of what youre trying to do?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 01:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


If it's in conduit I wouldn't think twice, the question is more without conduit and how to understand the nec when it says physical damage or similar terms.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance

Last edited by Julius793; 01-09-2012 at 01:31 AM.
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
If it's in conduit I wouldn't think twice, the question is more without conduit and how to understand the nec when it says physical damage or similar terms.
Thanks. That was my thinking.

Regardless, I went ahead and opened up the drywall (ceiling and wall) and put the romex thru the attic space. It was even more work than I expected---lots of weird angles, beams, etc. Anyways, it's almost all done, and should be finished tomorrow.
Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 04:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Default

conduit behind wood trim?


I am wondering if I might cut the top of the molding off and replace it with a metal square conduit that can be painted to match and look like the top part of the crown molding. It might not match the other crown modling exactly, but it would not be obvious unless one looked closely I think.. I would remove a strip of drywall at the top so the conduit would be mounted as required on the studs...

I have seen metal crown molding conduits that I wish I had used before placing the molding I have now.. Running wires would be very easy If I had...

Mike from Virginia
MichaelVirginia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UN-painting wood trim in a California Craftsman!? TOTALN00B Remodeling 6 02-21-2011 06:07 AM
Help selecting wood to trim out interior windows and doorways RobertN Carpentry 11 01-07-2011 04:38 PM
Interior Door Trim (am I the only one that does this?) javan Carpentry 17 08-14-2008 03:19 PM
Should I seal where wood trim meets the brick? megan81 Building & Construction 1 07-01-2008 12:40 PM
Tile with a wood trim? trick29392 Flooring 3 06-26-2008 07:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.