Conduit For 10/3 Interior Niche - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 01:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

conduit for 10/3 interior niche


hi all,
we are installing a washer/dryer. The unit has a 30amp distribution box (both washer and dryer plug into the box) which plugs into a 4 prong 30A outlet. We would like to hardwire the box to the 10/3 and get rid of the 4-prong outlet. The distribution box is located in a small recessed niche in the wall (sheetrocked) where the 10/3 is located. The question for the forum is whether a 1" PVC conduit is a suitable conduit to connect the distribtion box to the 10/3. This conduit will be approxcimately 4-6" long going from the box into wall framing.
Thanks, Steve

Advertisement

Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:19 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

conduit for 10/3 interior niche


If I understand you correctly this would now require a disconnect instead of using the cord. Seems like a lot of hassle to no benefit. Will you unwire the unit every time you want to clean out the dryer vent tube?

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

conduit for 10/3 interior niche


Note: If the dryer comes with cord and plug, you may not substitute another power cord to hard wire it to the wall box unless its instructions specifically permit that.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 11:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

conduit for 10/3 interior niche


thanks...both the meile washer and meile dryer have thier individual 4-prong 30A plugs that BOTH plug into a two outlet box (frmo meile) that plugs into a 4-prong 30am outlet. It is the box that i would like to hardwire.
Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 12:16 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

conduit for 10/3 interior niche


Never seen one of those, but it does clear things up.

Could you just install two 30 amp receptacles in the wall and not use the Miele box?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 06:56 PM
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 02:34 AM
Buried gas pipe in conduit WillK Plumbing 4 01-07-2011 01:50 PM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 02:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 07:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts