Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 04:42 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensor Unit Wiring issues with Square D QO Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Are you sure the nameplate didn't indicate minimum circuit ampacity 30A and not maximum HACR breaker 40A? I have never seen a nameplate where it states minimum breaker size. If infact it indicates maximum HACR breaker 40A, then install a 30A and see if it holds. Otherwise the wire will have to be replaced.

Is the breaker in the disco or in the panel? Is the disco a knife switch?
You are correct. I knew it said Maximum HACR but quoted it incorrectly. The breaker is in the main electrical enclosure. The disconnect at the condensor unit is not fused. I had a 30 Amp for the dryer which wasn't being used, and put it in the other day on the condensor. I thought it would hold okay but tripped twice since the weather has gotten into the 90's. I could go down to the supply house and get a 35 Amp and try that, but already have the 40 amp breaker.

Perry401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 06:09 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condensor Unit Wiring issues with Square D QO Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Perry401 View Post
... I could go down to the supply house and get a 35 Amp and try that, but already have the 40 amp breaker.
Won't do you any good. The lugs on the 35 are the same as the 40 and up.

I'd stick the #10 wire in the 40 and call it a day
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (06-06-2011)
Old 06-05-2011, 10:17 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condensor Unit Wiring issues with Square D QO Breaker


Nothing wrong with a #8 pigtail (not necessary to replace the whole circuit conductors). Just use a wire nut listed for that combination.

IDEAL brand nos. listed for 1 - #8 and 1#10 are:
WIRE-NUT # 76B RED
WING-NUT # 452 RED
WING-NUT # 454 BLUE
Twister # 342 GRAY
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:24 PM   #19
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

Condensor Unit Wiring issues with Square D QO Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
Many units state min and max cb size. It is not necceary to install a cb disconnect out by the condenser. You can use a nonfused disconnect providing your area allows it. If the 30 amp does not hold you can install a 40 without changing wire size.
If the nameplate states "Maximum Fuse Size Only" then it shall be a fused disco. Otherwise, a knife switch is acceptable.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:26 PM   #20
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

Condensor Unit Wiring issues with Square D QO Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Won't do you any good. The lugs on the 35 are the same as the 40 and up.

I'd stick the #10 wire in the 40 and call it a day
Doesn't that defeat the purpose of the original post?

electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit breaker, condensor, ferrule


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling fan wiring issues cmlcsu Electrical 3 07-02-2010 03:38 PM
wiring two pole breaker ugabulldog Electrical 18 05-24-2010 04:54 PM
GE Dryer Wiring harness issues Chemist1961 Appliances 2 08-30-2009 02:33 PM
Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem jmreynol Electrical 3 04-28-2009 08:06 PM
Need help finding Square D breaker jmyers34429 Electrical 5 01-30-2005 06:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.