Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2011, 02:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Hello all. I am running electricity to an out building thta is approx 70 years old and have hit a glitch. The concrete footing which is 2" underground comes out from the building about a foot and is prob 8" thick. The attached photo isn't great but, might help. Would it be legal to bring the sched 40 PVC out of the ground at the edge of the concrete and then run across the top to the building at ground level for that last foot. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.


boat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 02:42 PM   #2
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,418
Rewards Points: 2,484
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


The concrete footing is...

two inches underground, or,
two feet underground?

Bud Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:20 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Photo, what photo. Oh, the mystery thickens.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


1. thanks for the quick replies

2. it is 2 inches underground, extends a foot from the building and, is about 8 inches thick.

3. hmmm, the picture was there honest. i have attached it this time.
Attached Thumbnails
Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?-img-20111120-00127.jpg  
boat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Milwaukeetool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


I believe it is a 2" slab that the out building is built on rather than a footing.
Milwaukeetool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:57 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


I don't see in the picture where the footing extends beyond the wall a foot. It looks flush to me
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 04:13 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


boat73, you are going to have to pull the dirt off around the structure to see how far the material runs along the length. It could just be block, but you will not know, until you do more excavating.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 04:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 166
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Why not line up the trench with a corresponding point on the inside of the shed and drill a 2'' hole right through the concrete. It is most likely less than 8'' thick anyway on the inside of the wall. Then extend the trench and dig under the projecting concrete edge beam. If you push a broom handle or similar piece of wood, you will see where the bottom of the hole you drilled is. Then run the 40mm conduit in the trench and up through concrete floor on the inside of the wall. Continue the conduit vertically to serve a power point or sub switchboard. Note the actual wiring and connections must be carried out by a qualified and licensed electrician. That way, the conduit is fully protected, out of site and neatly fixed to the wall on the inside. There are codes about the depth of trench for electric conduit, the protection of the conduit with concrete pavers and marking of the conduit route with special conductive tape, so you may need to just dig the trench and leave the rest to the electrician.

Cheers from the big Oz.
JoJo-Arch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 04:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 166
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


I would also add that drilling a 2'' hole with today's drills is straight forward. I purchased a hammer-rotary drill for $50 plus a set of diamond tipped core bits 1'',2'',3'' and 4'' for $40 from our supermarket chain Aldis and these bits will drill to 10''. I know it's an el cheapo, but so far its been fine for drilling a small number of large holes in concrete. That's all I expected it to do.
Cheers, from Oz
JoJo-Arch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 04:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Thanks all, i know that picture is hard to see all the depth. I marked this one to try and make it easier to see all the dimensions. I have drilled concrete before but was hoping there would be a better code approved method. The concrete has a lot of rocks in it so I wasn't sure if that might make it harder to drill. I suppose I could just use a hammer drill to chissel ot a channel if i had to.
Attached Thumbnails
Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?-img-20111120-00127.jpg  
boat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 05:36 PM   #11
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


why not just come up on the outside and LB into the shed?
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 06:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 166
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Yep! as I said, the code will not let you have exposed conduit externally unless is properly protected. Rember when the weeds grow and you forget about the conduit down the track, the first time you dig the weeds according to Murhy's law, will be when you don't need drugs to see the light.
Cheers from an architect that is trying to save your life. .
JoJo-Arch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 06:06 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


I am using an LB but, does the LB need to be right at the wall or can it be 6 inches out with a section of PVC between it and the house?
boat73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 11:31 PM   #14
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


Don't do that, just heat the pvc and it will bend like a wet noodle. Not hard at all. Also, bring the LB up above weed height, so you don't forget its there. I don't know about other areas, but around here, the AHJ does not consider this application exposed to physical damage.
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 08:08 AM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Concrete Footing 2" underground, what to do?


I would consider that area subject to damage from lawn mowers and string trimmers.

A sweeping offset could be used to get over the footing.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
garden shed on existing concrete pad hartkem Building & Construction 6 10-27-2011 09:46 PM
High Rise Building methods - US versus Oz - Steel versus Concrete Jado Off Topic 17 09-15-2011 09:47 PM
concrete drive and walk 7echo Landscaping & Lawn Care 12 04-22-2011 06:03 PM
Tips For Pouring Concrete? Root issues? Thoughts? kronic24601 Building & Construction 5 02-14-2011 07:52 AM
What is the on the base of the footing for standard circular steel form work for concrete be 12" wall and 36' foundation undation? william lum Building & Construction 1 06-24-2010 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.