Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 01:32 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Share |
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Power companies in my are will not power up a service (install meter) unless the main breaker is off. After they power up the service, turn all branch circuits off, turn the main on then turn on the branch circuits. If you are sure the work was done properly then there should be no issues.

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:45 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Longview, Texas
Posts: 270
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


thank you danpik. Amazing, it took two full pages to get the simple answer i was after. I knew they wouldnt hook it up with the main breaker turned on, i just wasnt sure how to go about turning it on afterwards. thanks.
firsttimeremode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:09 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Longview, Texas
Posts: 270
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


just making the best of a bad situation. If it makes me an idiot to check on a method before i just go in there all gung ho and get myself killed, then sorry but im going to check. No sense in calling people names.
firsttimeremode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 06:13 PM   #34
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


I'd shut this down, but the OP is trying to learn something---I think----

Let the moderators know if it's time to pull the plug on this one----

To the OP---you have the assistance of some very skilled and experienced pros---watch the wise cracks---they are being generous to you---a thank you would go a long way.---Mike the Moderator----
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
JetSwet (09-22-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 10:29 PM   #35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


To all whose posts are now gone;
Forum Posting Rules:
The following is a list of basic guidelines about what is and is not allowed while posting on DIYChatroom.com. These rules are in addition to what is listed in our Terms Of Service , and Advertising Rules. Please read through all of these sections before using our site and contact us if you have questions..
  • Users shall treat each other with respect at all times on DIYChatroom.com. Name calling, personal attacks, or other inappropriate behavior will not be allowed and may cause your account to be banned."
Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:46 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Longview, Texas
Posts: 270
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


you can close the thread if you want, ive got my answer. sorry bout the sarcasm ya'll. Everyone have a nice evening.
firsttimeremode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:22 AM   #37
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Not necessary. As long as information is being exchanged to help others reading this in the future with a similar problem...that is our main goal here.
Thank you for your understanding.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:45 AM   #38
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Let me add something else along the way here .,

If you do have the generatour running now and when the POCO do make the hook up the POCO will have a very strict policy that when they see that running they will NOT engerized the power source until the generatour is off then they can able engerized the source.

The reason is for your own safety and POCO safety so no one will get hurt from this.

I have see couple generatours blew up when the POCO engerized the source it is not a pretty sight at all.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:21 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Note: After power is connected, be sure to check every single outlet with a voltmeter to be sure it has the correct voltage and it is wired correctly (before plugging anything in). Check all switches to be sure they work ok.

Very rarely you might get a switch or outlet which has a manufacturing defect and does not work.

And mistakes happen. The wires going to a 240 volt outlet can look the same as the wires going to a 120 volt outlet. So easy for someone to install the wrong outlet or mix up wires at the panel.

I always do that even if I was the only person doing the work. Good to double check and test!
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:40 AM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


i'm thinking if it didnt spark when you had your gen set on it, it won't when they hookup ur mains man, so don't worry
DShdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:37 PM   #41
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,409
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Quote:
Originally Posted by DShdw View Post
i'm thinking if it didnt spark when you had your gen set on it, it won't when they hookup ur mains man, so don't worry
Bad Advice!
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-22-2012), Speedy Petey (09-22-2012)
Old 09-22-2012, 04:32 PM   #42
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

Concerned about hooking up main power


Quote:
Originally Posted by DShdw View Post
i'm thinking if it didnt spark when you had your gen set on it, it won't when they hookup ur mains man, so don't worry
Wow. Please think twice before posting advice to the electrical board.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
building a main and sub panels for 2 remote buildings n175h Electrical 30 12-20-2011 02:09 PM
Changing a breaker. Turn main power off first? noone Electrical 18 11-15-2011 07:08 PM
main burner goes out after furnace running 10 -2 0 mins marion60 HVAC 4 11-02-2011 09:53 AM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 03:19 PM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.