Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2012, 10:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


Hello everyone, I have an Ingersoll Rand 60 GAL compressor. A friend gave it to me, but the only issue is that someone ripped out the original magnetic starter, i ran across a used box, but i cant figure out what goes where, I can hook up everything but the motor. There is four wires, a green one, which I know it is the ground wire, and three black wire, I can only assume they are HOT wires, and that is where im stuck. Not sure exactly where they hook up to. Can anyone give me tips, advise or tell me where they go?
Thank you,
Jesse
Attached Thumbnails
Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)-compressor3.jpg   Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)-compressor1.jpg   Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)-compressor.jpg  

Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,340
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


I'm going to guess that you have a 3 phase motor on your compressor. Are you planning on using this at home (single phase) or in a commercial building that has 3 phase power?

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


i am using it in my home,
Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,340
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


Can you verify from the motor tag if you have a 3 phase motor? If so, you will need to install a single phase motor or buy a phase converter. Could be quite a sum of money either way.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


what am i looking for on the motor to verify its a 3 phase?
Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:46 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


the starter is single phase overloaded for 230V,can't be used on that motor and it is 3 phase that is a commercial air compressor.motor change is required and if you go for a motor new with a new contactor and fused disconnect..check out www.grainger.com for all the items rpms/hp and frame critical for a new setup...throw in a new pully on the motor also... maybe belt....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


well it does say PH3 on the tag, so i guess it is a phase 3 motor
Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:05 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


Ingersoll Rand Compressor going on Craigslist...
thank you everyone for your assistance.
Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,340
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse69 View Post
Ingersoll Rand Compressor going on Craigslist...
thank you everyone for your assistance.
You are welcome. Would you happen to be close to D.C. or Baltimore?
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:11 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


no... Houston, TX
Jesse69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,340
Rewards Points: 1,036
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


You have a nice compressor if it's in good shape. The problem is high horsepower single phase motors are pricey unless you are lucky and can find a used one that will fit.

Good Luck

Last edited by zappa; 07-07-2012 at 11:25 PM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:16 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Compressor Magnetic Starter (Need Help)


You can use a simple VFD for converting single phase to three phase for less money than the single phase motor. If you have no clue regarding electrical operations, go with the motor. But the VFD is a great way to approach this situation. You can junk the starter to.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Jesse69 (07-08-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snapper Snow Blower Electric Starter Irishhusker Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 10-05-2012 05:37 PM
Starter course up the rake edge? rjniles Roofing/Siding 7 03-01-2012 08:29 AM
No starter strip used on shed roof install? waterskier_erie Roofing/Siding 4 10-31-2011 09:25 PM
scf starter wireing help needed rummins Electrical 6 06-20-2008 05:41 PM
CertainTeed starter shingle ? MACCC Roofing/Siding 2 04-20-2007 03:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.