Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 09:21 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,542
Rewards Points: 4
Share |
Default

Common to ground on outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
Hard to tell, my eyes aren't what they use to be, but it looks like the brass tab between the screws is missing.
I can't really see it but that would explain using the ground to make up the possible missing neutral I mentioned post #10.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:12 PM   #17
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Common to ground on outlet


Saw it in Camden all the time. Perfect example of what a trunkslammer or amature will do. Illegal and dangerous as hell. Check the entire house or hire an electrical contractor to do it for you.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:33 PM   #18
DBW
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Common to ground on outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
They can share the same bar in a service panel.

Didn't know that.... thanks.
Is it ok to split them in a service panel?
I did this when I put in a larger panel a few years ago.
DBW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:38 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,784
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Common to ground on outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by DBW View Post
Didn't know that.... thanks.
Is it ok to split them in a service panel?
I did this when I put in a larger panel a few years ago.
As long as they are bonded at the first point disconnect.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
DBW (01-15-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to ground a 2-wire outdoor lamp post elect. outlet numbersguy Electrical 4 09-23-2012 08:06 AM
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
ground bathroom outlet flman Electrical 4 01-16-2011 11:52 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.