Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2013, 10:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 457
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


Ok, I'm a bit unsure of this, so figure I'd better ask.

I'm trying to wire up a levitron combo switch/receptacle. The goal is to switch the receptacle so that I can turn on/off a radiant heater I plan to plug into the device. Nothing else will be in-line with the switch or the receptacle.

I have the black(hot), white(neutral) and ground wire coming into the junction box and no other wires. I'm finally thinking I wire the black wire to the brass terminal, which is next to the switch, and the white wire to the silver terminal, which is next to the receptacle. Obviously, the ground goes to green grounding screw. What about the two black terminals??? If I'm correct on the rest, do I just leave them alone with nothing connected? The jumper bar is in place.

....or am I totally wrong? If so, please advise...I've done this before, but it's been a while.

Thanks!!

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


Model of the device?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:31 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,176
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


Is the device you are replacing a switch or a receptacle?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:40 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Brian View Post
Ok, I'm a bit unsure of this, so figure I'd better ask.

I'm trying to wire up a levitron combo switch/receptacle. The goal is to switch the receptacle so that I can turn on/off a radiant heater I plan to plug into the device. Nothing else will be in-line with the switch or the receptacle.

I have the black(hot), white(neutral) and ground wire coming into the junction box and no other wires. I'm finally thinking I wire the black wire to the brass terminal, which is next to the switch, and the white wire to the silver terminal, which is next to the receptacle. Obviously, the ground goes to green grounding screw. What about the two black terminals??? If I'm correct on the rest, do I just leave them alone with nothing connected? The jumper bar is in place.

....or am I totally wrong? If so, please advise...I've done this before, but it's been a while.

Thanks!!
You are correct wiring as you describe will switch the receptacle on and off so long as your combination device is not replacing a switch that is on a switch loop where the white is a hot wire. In other words if your replacing a switch with your combo device and all the wires that you have in the box are black,white and ground no other wires then you do not have a neutral and the receptacle will not work.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 03-17-2013 at 11:46 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 457
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


The model is T5225. It is not replacing anything, it is being added and fed from another receptacle.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


As wired below, the receptacle is controlled by the switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Combo Switch Recept??-ibcgetattachment.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 457
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
As wired below, the receptacle is controlled by the switch.
So, my thoughts are correct! Thanks!!!
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 457
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Combo Switch Recept??


And it works, now if my heater would get here!

Thanks again!!

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch layout has me confused crescere Electrical 5 09-08-2012 11:26 AM
Fan/light wiring from 2 switches to combo switch dbinaz Electrical 2 08-06-2012 02:51 PM
help with light/outlet switch combo aftermath431 Electrical 5 07-06-2012 12:23 PM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 01:31 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.