Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 12:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Code for running ethernet


We have a few ethernet cables in the warehouse areas of my work that are just strapped to the building frame along the walls and ceiling. I know it isn't supposed to be run along with power lines. Does anyone know of any specific code that either says this is or is not OK? Management wants to know if this needs to go in conduit. Its been this way for a long time and I think it is OK, but I don't know of any code to support this. Thanks!

chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:54 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Code for running ethernet


It does not need to be inside conduit.
We use a J hook to run the cables in.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Default

Code for running ethernet


J hook as in a standard hardware hook?
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:07 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Code for running ethernet


Sorry, no a J hook as in a caddy hook, or threaded rod we bent into a J hook.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Code for running ethernet


Thanks for the reply. I guess there is probably no code to cover the concept if no code is needed.

There are a million different varieties of J hooks so I assume whatever fits best is the right choice.

Here is an example:

http://deepsurplus.com/Network-Struc...k-Small-1-5-16
chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:47 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Code for running ethernet


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_b View Post
Thanks for the reply. I guess there is probably no code to cover the concept if no code is needed.

There are a million different varieties of J hooks so I assume whatever fits best is the right choice.

Here is an example:

http://deepsurplus.com/Network-Struc...k-Small-1-5-16
Right, whatever size you need to get the number of cables you have from point a to point b.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 168
Default

Code for running ethernet


You still might want to consider physical protection of the cables. If they are stapled to exposed framing in a warehouse then they are susceptible to damage. One bump by the edge of a pallet or other hard object is all it takes sometimes. Ethernet cables contain several very small wires that are easily damaged and if you have a bundle of them it can be a royal pain to locate the source of any problems.
dftc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:58 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Code for running ethernet


All of the cables right now are high up on the walls and fastened with zip tie like straps that are attached to the concrete walls or metal beams. We don't stack anything higher than 2 pallets high so they are above that.

Thanks.
chris_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:15 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Code for running ethernet


Having a heavy gauge sheet metal cover made to protect the cables would be the best thing. Most times if the cables are in an area that they can be damaged, they will be ran in a couple of steel EMT to protect, or in a cable tray. Especially if there is fiber involved.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:50 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 135
Default

Code for running ethernet


If they are not subject to damage, I wouldn't touch em. Tie raps will last a long time if they are the black ones (UV protection). I've seen LV cables strung like spaghetti in warehouses and high bay. Doesn't look very professional, but it works for them.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:31 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

Code for running ethernet


Tie wraps that are too tight can damage the cables.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 12:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 135
Default

Code for running ethernet


You'd have to tighten them pretty well, but yes, they are tiny conductors and could be damaged. However, the OP states that these cables are already in service and in good shape. I still would let sleeping dogs lie if the cables are out of harms way and they aren't simply looking to pretty the place up.

al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Closet Lights Sav505 Electrical 52 12-28-2012 07:24 AM
Plumb island sink and AAV code for Ajax jhakkim Plumbing 2 02-13-2012 11:07 PM
Please Help - Error Code's 31, 32 and 42 on Carrier 58MVB 100 kolo HVAC 15 01-28-2012 10:13 PM
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 01:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.