Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 09:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


What is the height requirement on conduit coming through roof? What do I do if main feeder wires are not long enough.

rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:37 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


What is the slope of the roof? You can check NEC Article 225.18.

If the conductors are not long enough you would install new ones.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-28-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


I would have to install new ones or poco
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:44 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,793
Rewards Points: 18
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbull View Post
I would have to install new ones or poco
Usually the poco owns to the point of attachment, so the wire in the conduit belongs to you.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 01-27-2012 at 10:20 PM. Reason: spelling
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:01 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


I would also check with the power company for height requirements because they may have certain requirements.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-28-2012)
Old 01-28-2012, 02:32 AM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 14
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Is this on a house or building?
Is it coming from across a yard or driveway?
Do you get a lot of snow in your area?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:03 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Do you get a lot of snow in your area?
This is an odd question. What's the relevance?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:05 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbull View Post
What is the height requirement on conduit coming through roof? What do I do if main feeder wires are not long enough.
There is not nearly enough info here to provide an accurate answer.

The height through the roof of the service mast is typically 3'.
Why would the service conductor not be long enough? Are you replacing the mast?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:28 AM   #9
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 14
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is an odd question. What's the relevance?
Very simple if youre in an area that tends to have 2' of snow sitting on your roof for a couple weeks at a time you might want to take that into consideration
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:35 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


The code does not change the height requirement based on snow. My utility also has a height limit so the weatherhead can be reached with a ladder.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-28-2012)
Old 01-28-2012, 06:36 AM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 14
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
There is not nearly enough info here to provide an accurate answer.

The height through the roof of the service mast is typically 3'.
Why would the service conductor not be long enough? Are you replacing the mast?
Most of our service masts in this area are not over 24".
I had an inspector ask me why I had a service mast coming 4' out the roof of a residential garage that butted up to an alley in south omaha years ago.
I just pointed to the semi-truck repair shop next door that used the same alley as an alternate entrance to their shop,and the pole being directly across the alley from garage.
I told him the first time they brought a truck/trailer in through there to be worked on hed know why I had that service set so high to clear that alley!
Of course I had to support the 2" rigid pipe in 2 directions to make him happy
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:39 AM   #12
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 14
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The code does not change the height requirement based on snow. My utility also has a height limit so the weatherhead can be reached with a ladder.
No but common sense should play into things shouldnt it?
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:41 AM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
No but common sense should play into things shouldnt it?
WHY? Do you go walking around on your roof with 2' of snow on it?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:42 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Most of our service masts in this area are not over 24".
I had an inspector ask me why I had a service mast coming 4' out the roof of a residential garage that butted up to an alley in south omaha years ago.
I just pointed to the semi-truck repair shop next door that used the same alley as an alternate entrance to their shop,and the pole being directly across the alley from garage.
I told him the first time they brought a truck/trailer in through there to be worked on hed know why I had that service set so high to clear that alley!
Of course I had to support the 2" rigid pipe in 2 directions to make him happy
Bottom line is it needs to be as high as necessary to get the required service drop clearance over whatever terrain it hangs over.

Typically the mast is 3' high, with the POA at 24" above the roof.
Any higher would require a back guy in most areas.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:44 AM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

code requirement on conduit going through roof that main feeder wires come through


You don't shovel your roof?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Secure Wires from Conduit in Sub Panel brgmgb Electrical 7 09-29-2011 09:10 PM
Is it legal to run wires on the ground, in conduit? Red Squirrel Electrical 20 02-22-2011 02:59 PM
Michigan code regarding roof over stuwithau Roofing/Siding 8 07-21-2009 01:14 PM
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.