Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2008, 09:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


Is there a minimum height requirement for outlets in a basement? In other words, can they be installed along the baseboard or do they have to be a certain height above the slab?

redbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 10:44 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


Any height you like.

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:17 PM   #3
Woodworker and Contractor
 
Kingfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 224
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


Above fema flood level, but if you have a basement thats probably not an issue
Kingfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 12:45 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


Thanks for the replies!

FEMA flood level? Is that the same specification as the flood plain or is that a more stringent specification? I know that the house and basement are not in a flood plain.
redbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 06:09 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


If this will be a habitable room, the "required" receptacles cannot be more than 5'6" off the floor. Aside from that do anything you want.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 10:13 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Code for Outlet Placement in Basement


Thanks bigmike, kingfisher, and speedy, those were the answers I wanted to hear.

redbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 09:55 PM
1950's Roof Framing Strength KempLN Building & Construction 21 06-17-2006 10:06 AM
Finishing basement - electrical code ??? normwannabe Electrical 1 01-23-2006 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.