Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2006, 08:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Code method to splice UF wire


I need to extend two buried UF type wires in my yard. I assumed I would need to use a surface accessible, waterproof junction box and wire nuts to make the splice. The local Lowes store sells a device made of copper with set screws and a heat shrinkable sleeve that accoding to the package can be buried.

I needed to move my shed because it was on the property line and it was set too low so it flooded. There are two seperate UF type wires run to the shed to provide power for the sprinkler submersible pump and the power in the shed.

The cables are both about seven feet short because of the shed movement and I prefer to splice them in some manner instead of digging a trench across the yard and installing new wire.

What does the NEC allow or require for splices on UF type wire?

Thanks

dleger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 06:12 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

Code method to splice UF wire


I am not a pro electrican, so I can't speak to code requirements, but there are several ways to connect UF underground.
All that I've seen usually involve some type of built-in silicone sealant inside the device or wirenuts made for the purpose.
Shop around. I use those special wirenuts made for the purpose, and wrap them heavily in electrical tape for my underground boathouse wiring connections. Works for me.
Good Luck!
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 08:27 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

Code method to splice UF wire


While the slilcone wire nuts will work, alone they are quite illegal.
This is one of the only legal ways to splice UF underground:
3M UF slice kit
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 12:30 PM   #4
Been around the block
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Code method to splice UF wire


I agree with speedy get an underground splice kit and do it the right way. Im a little sick and tired of people thinking electrical tape is the miracle cure for everything.
eleservtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 07:38 PM   #5
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Default

Code method to splice UF wire


Ya, I'm with Etech regarding black electrical tape. Isn't hockey stick tape way better lol.
ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I really need help! POOK Electrical 34 04-20-2007 07:01 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.