Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 09:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Share |
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


is it ok for me to run main conducters from bottom right corner of box up to top and to main breaker or is this to long i heard that you need to use the shortest possible length of conductors. they will probably be a foot and a half long inside panel
also what size conductors should i use it is only 70 amp service but i am using a 100 amp panel

rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Why not put the breaker at the bottom? Does it move side to side?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


can i turn panel upside down? no it wont move closer to conductors coming in as it sits right on a stud
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Petey was asking if the breaker action was horizontal or vertical.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


horizontal to a bar one on each side of main breaker
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:34 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbull View Post
horizontal to a bar one on each side of main breaker
HUH??

Does the breaker handle move side-to-side? Or up and down?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:34 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


If you were to turn the main breaker off would it move horizontally or vertically? If horizontal there is no upsidedown for the panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


oh yea it moves horizontaly sorry
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:43 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbull
is it ok for me to run main conducters from bottom right corner of box up to top and to main breaker or is this to long i heard that you need to use the shortest possible length of conductors. they will probably be a foot and a half long inside panel
also what size conductors should i use it is only 70 amp service but i am using a 100 amp panel
I am assuming that you are in the US. I'm an electrician in Canada, so I'm not completely familiar with your code rules, but i might be able to shed some light here. It is code here that all main service conductors be separated from branch circuits. I'm not sure if your panel has a barrier that surrounds the empty space above the main breaker, but if it does then the service wires should be behind that barrier. Either way, I would suggest mounting the panel horizontally so that the main breaker sits to the left or right of the branch circuits. This should allow you to place the service wires in their designated spot.
Matt_Jaxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:45 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_Jaxn View Post
I am assuming that you are in the US. I'm an electrician in Canada, so I'm not completely familiar with your code rules, but i might be able to shed some light here. It is code here that all main service conductors be separated from branch circuits. I'm not sure if your panel has a barrier that surrounds the empty space above the main breaker, but if it does then the service wires should be behind that barrier. Either way, I would suggest mounting the panel horizontally so that the main breaker sits to the left or right of the branch circuits. This should allow you to place the service wires in their designated spot.
In the US the service conductor separation is not required or done.
Also, breakers CANNOT move up/down and be on when down. So horizontal panels are a huge violation.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


ok speedy this is what im stuck at i can buy longer main conductors and install them. if length doesnt matter then im ok also i had a wire burn in two and it has to be spliced i bought new 14/2 romex and am going to splice this in a junction box with a minimum of 6 inches in box i will bolt this to stud which will be above breaker panel how should i go about making it accesable when drywalled can i just put a junction box cover on it and have the cover accessable from outside drywall?
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:52 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,528
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


You can splice the 14-2 in the panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:56 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 57
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


yea but it burned above my panel behind drywall so ill have to run new romex to that point any ideas on how to make junction box it accessable?
rebelbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:59 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelbull
also what size conductors should i use it is only 70 amp service but i am using a 100 amp panel
As for your conductors, always size them to the breaker, regardless of what your service amperage is. Breakers protect conductors from overloading and the subsequent overheat damage that goes along with it. You can load 100 amp wire with 70 amps, but if you load 70 amp wire with 100 amps you're likely to start a fire. In this case you should go with #3 AWG copper conductors, or alternatively you can use #2 AWG aluminum conductors which is a fair bit cheaper. Just be sure to use an anti-oxidizing compound at all points of termination when using aluminum conductors.
Matt_Jaxn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:00 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

code on main conductors to main breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
In the US the service conductor separation is not required or done.
Also, breakers CANNOT move up/down and be on when down. So horizontal panels are a huge violation.
Good to know. Please pardon any confusion.

Matt_Jaxn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Matt_Jaxn For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-24-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main circuit breaker's screws hot even with breaker off? darlingm Electrical 13 01-15-2012 11:44 AM
Code for open conduit feeding main breaker jr1783 Electrical 5 04-05-2011 02:14 PM
Main Breaker Melting rubberhead Off Topic 8 03-16-2011 07:50 PM
Main Breaker goes off.... spiral Electrical 6 01-01-2011 07:18 PM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.