Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2010, 08:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Code compliance


Just want to make sure I have this right.



1 - First square on the top is the main disconnect.
2 - Rectangle right below it is the main panel
(a) same neutral/ground bus bar
(b) bonding strap connected to neutral/ground bus bar
3 - rectangle below the main panel is a subpanel
(a) this subpanel will only feed a 240v receptacle
(b) for that reason, there's no need to use a neutral wire
4 - rectangle on the right of the main panel is another subpanel
(a) this subpanel will feed both 120/240v receptacles
(b) the square on top of this subpanel is a 120v receptacle
(c) the square to the right side is a 240v receptacle


Do I have everything correct, including wire colors?

RichardPryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:40 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Code compliance


2. Neutral and ground must be separate. Only place you bond them is at the main disco. You must use 4 wire feed to panel and treat as sub panel.
3. Why even bother with sub panel here? If you need a disconnect at the device install disconnect instead of a sub panel.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Code compliance


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
2. Neutral and ground must be separate. Only place you bond them is at the main disco. You must use 4 wire feed to panel and treat as sub panel.
Thanks, did not know that.
Quote:
3. Why even bother with sub panel here? If you need a disconnect at the device install disconnect instead of a sub panel.
Basically that subpanel is already in place. It just has 2 20amp circuit breakers for a pair of A/C's. The person who installed the A/C's installed this subpanel, but I want it to be code compliant, which ATM is not.

Do I need a neutral wire for this subpanel?
RichardPryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 09:51 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Code compliance


I don't know if a neutral is required. I do know that you can't bond the neutral and ground together.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 10:52 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Code compliance




1 - Main disconnect (same neutral/ground bus bar)
2 - Sub-panel
3 - Sub-panel that will only feed 240v equipment

^^Do I need to have a neutral wire feeding this sub-panel?^^

4 - Sub-panel that will feed both 120/240v equipment

^^Rectangle on top of box #4 is a 120v receptacle (no red wire)^^
^^Rectangle on the right side of box #4 is a 240v receptacle (no neutral)^^

Do I have this right? Thank you.
RichardPryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 03:00 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Code compliance


A neutral is not required with a stright 240 volt subpanel.

I hope things work out for you!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
curbless shower disaster- code compliance?? ck99 Flooring 7 08-30-2011 11:21 PM
need some help on code compliance nap Plumbing 6 02-19-2010 10:39 AM
Code compliance question: plug-in UPS inline with circuit ScottR Electrical 20 06-03-2009 04:26 PM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 07:52 AM
New Furnace, Code Compliance? theatretch85 Electrical 16 12-23-2008 09:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.