Coaxial Splitting Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2008, 07:57 PM   #1
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

coaxial splitting question


Currently my fiber optic feed comes into my basement and directly into a splitter. Then....

1) One line goes directly into my attic into another splitter which feeds four bedrooms. (all untested so far, new work)

2) 2nd line goes to the first floor tv area.

3) 3rd line goes into the den

4) goes to the wireless modem

How much of an upgrade would it be to replace the splitter (in line 1) with a female/female adapter, run up to the attic, then put a splitter and branch down into all the rooms?

Advertisement

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 08:19 PM   #2
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

coaxial splitting question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jelly View Post
How much of an upgrade would it be to replace the splitter (in line 1) with a female/female adapter, run up to the attic, then put a splitter and branch down into all the rooms?
How much in work or supplies? Do you know how to terminate coaxial cable? The most direct (least split) connection should be to the modem, the rest can be split as necessary. Right now it appears you have a modified home run connection with a 4-way splitter. Why would you want to take this away? If any lines cause problems they can be isolated from the basement.

Are you expecting to gain anything by the change?

Advertisement

__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 09:33 PM   #3
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

coaxial splitting question


Right now i have a splitter branched from another splitter which I've read in this forum is a not a good idea.

It is easy to run the cable now as all the walls are open. Of course $$$ is a factor but the last time I checked, 100ft of cable was under $25.
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 06:37 PM   #4
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

coaxial splitting question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jelly View Post
Right now i have a splitter branched from another splitter which I've read in this forum is a not a good idea.
My .02c. Not usually but I would check my tv reception first to see if there was any gain with the change. Home runs are usually the better way to go especially with finding a bad cable etc. I think it depends how much the signal will be reduced is the factor. I do know the computer connection should be the cleanest signal of all (read initial split from the main cable) and the tv connections later. You may or may not see a change and then wonder if the cost was worth it.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?

Last edited by handyman78; 05-27-2008 at 06:39 PM.
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 07:15 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

coaxial splitting question


Not sure exactly how you have split things but I would think either 2 4 way splitters or a 2 and a 3 and 4 way splitter.

the first way would cause about a 16dB loss and the second way would be about an 18 dB loss to the upstairs tv's.

I would suggest a 2 way when you first enter. One side for the TV system and the other for the internet. Then, on the TV side, add a 6 way splitter so you can feed each tv from this point. That would be about a 14dB loss.

Obviously the less loss, the better. With this amount of loss though, you may find a need for an amplifier. The amp should go right after the very first splitter (the 2 way that splits TV from internet)..

If you use a splitter with extra ports, you should install a loaded termination cap on each unused port.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 07:15 AM   #6
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

coaxial splitting question


The more times a signal is split, the more the loss. I learned this the hard way.

Try and keep your modem (as mentioned) a home run, and also think about possibly an amplifier for the longest runs...
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 09:54 PM   #7
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

coaxial splitting question


Thanks for al the tips guys. nap, I see how easily the dB loss can grow, i will consider....
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 10:54 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

coaxial splitting question


I did not know that Coaxial can be Fiber. That is a new one that there are actually TV sets that can have a Fiber connection. As for the original question, call your CATV company, and tell them that you are having problems getting a good signal in the house, and set up a service call.

When the tEch gets there, be kind, offer them to where the problem "may" be, and then when done, compliment the hell out of them, and slip in the words "btw, do you happen to have a spare splitter in case I have problems later on, and do not need to call to fix the problem?" If they are cool, they will leave one with you, or even attach it with a small piece of wire where the other one is.

Advertisement

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 10:10 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 06:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts