Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2009, 09:05 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Share |
Default

Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You cannot use amps with Digital cable.
Really? Why not?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 12:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split


When I went through with my remodel on my house, I ripped out ALL of the old coax and 4 conductor phone wiring, it was all split in different locations and was it bad condition. Instead, I home ran all new quad sheild RG6 coax, Cat 6 data lines and Cat5e phone lines to a server room im in the middle of building. Charter came out and ran a brand new bright orange cable through my backyard to replace the old cable in the ground (which thankfully the install tech didn't see - so he ran the new cable). The old cable was spliced in the ground about a foot from the house.

I uUsed compression fittings everywhere, in fact the charter tech actually handed me a full bag of compression fittings and told me not to buy any. I already had the compression tool and all the RG6 quad sheiled cable I needed (2 partial 1000' boxes) and he we figured out how many cable connections I needed and came up with a splitter configuration that would work and he gave me those too.

Cable and phone modem, and digital HD recievers all need the best possible signal, I think no more than 2 total splitters for these devices (ie main splitter connects to a downstream splitter and these devices must connect no further down than that second splitter). I'll have a cable modem with 20mb internet, phone modem that will both sit in the data rack in the server room (where all the CATV cable run and will be split to the different rooms). Then I will have at least 1 or 2 HD cable boxes, and the rest of the tv's just getting basic cable tv.

Amplifiers can be used on basic cable tv (like the 25 dollar one mentioned earlier here) but they will not work on digitial cable (like for the modem/phone/HD cable box). Digital cable is bi-directional and runs in the 1000-2000mhz (1ghz to 2ghz) range and most amplifiers only operate in the 47-950mhz range (where the basic tv channels reside).

At my parents place (back when I was still living at home) I re-ran all the coax cable, and with the number of connections coming out of the attic at the opposite end of the house I ended up buying a Blounder Toungue Apartment Complex amplifier on ebay to power a 12 port splitter (this was after a couple splitters already in the garage. It worked great for the basic cable to all these tv's (and in some cases TV tuner in a PC) and was pretty cheap for a beefy (I believe 30db) gain.

They of course make bigger and better amplifiers, but to get one for digital cable would be rather expensive. It'd be cheaper to run all new cable even if it meant tearing through walls to run the cable. Cable is cheap, and wall repair isn't all that hard to do; and once its done you shouldn't have to worry about it. The amplifiers can fail overtime or be un-reliable if subject to the right conditions; I think my Blounder Toungue amp no longer works as good as it used to as it sits in the attic so its subject to the high heat in the summer and extreme cold in the winter.

Dang this post went on a lot longer than I intended it to.....
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 01:26 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
When I went through with my remodel on my house, I ripped out ALL of the old coax and 4 conductor phone wiring, it was all split in different locations and was it bad condition. Instead, I home ran all new quad sheild RG6 coax, Cat 6 data lines and Cat5e phone lines to a server room im in the middle of building. Charter came out and ran a brand new bright orange cable through my backyard to replace the old cable in the ground (which thankfully the install tech didn't see - so he ran the new cable). The old cable was spliced in the ground about a foot from the house.

I uUsed compression fittings everywhere, in fact the charter tech actually handed me a full bag of compression fittings and told me not to buy any. I already had the compression tool and all the RG6 quad sheiled cable I needed (2 partial 1000' boxes) and he we figured out how many cable connections I needed and came up with a splitter configuration that would work and he gave me those too.

Cable and phone modem, and digital HD recievers all need the best possible signal, I think no more than 2 total splitters for these devices (ie main splitter connects to a downstream splitter and these devices must connect no further down than that second splitter). I'll have a cable modem with 20mb internet, phone modem that will both sit in the data rack in the server room (where all the CATV cable run and will be split to the different rooms). Then I will have at least 1 or 2 HD cable boxes, and the rest of the tv's just getting basic cable tv.

Amplifiers can be used on basic cable tv (like the 25 dollar one mentioned earlier here) but they will not work on digitial cable (like for the modem/phone/HD cable box). Digital cable is bi-directional and runs in the 1000-2000mhz (1ghz to 2ghz) range and most amplifiers only operate in the 47-950mhz range (where the basic tv channels reside).

At my parents place (back when I was still living at home) I re-ran all the coax cable, and with the number of connections coming out of the attic at the opposite end of the house I ended up buying a Blounder Toungue Apartment Complex amplifier on ebay to power a 12 port splitter (this was after a couple splitters already in the garage. It worked great for the basic cable to all these tv's (and in some cases TV tuner in a PC) and was pretty cheap for a beefy (I believe 30db) gain.

They of course make bigger and better amplifiers, but to get one for digital cable would be rather expensive. It'd be cheaper to run all new cable even if it meant tearing through walls to run the cable. Cable is cheap, and wall repair isn't all that hard to do; and once its done you shouldn't have to worry about it. The amplifiers can fail overtime or be un-reliable if subject to the right conditions; I think my Blounder Toungue amp no longer works as good as it used to as it sits in the attic so its subject to the high heat in the summer and extreme cold in the winter.

Dang this post went on a lot longer than I intended it to.....
Can you tell me where you're getting your information for the cable frequencies? I haven't seen any digital cable boxes/cable modems that run over 1GHz. Maybe a Satellite system, but not CATV.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:35 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split


Here's the amplifier I use. Works great with digital and HDTV, and allows the comm paths back to the service provider for on-demand and pay-per-view commands. Online at $190.00

(I don't use the IR features...)

http://www.linearcorp.com/product_de...?productId=190



The description:

The Model DA-550BID Bi-directional RF Distribution Amplifier with 12-volt IR is the heart of a multi-room distribution system with outputs to eight televisions with coax runs up to 150 feet. The Model DA-550BID has three inputs, one from CATV and two from ChannelPlus 5400, 5500, or SVM series modulators. The Model DA-550BID can handle an extremely wide range of input signals from NTSC and digital TV. The Model DA-550BID offers a 5-42 MHz bandwidth return path for bi-directional communication for use with digital cable interactive set-top boxes.
The Model DA-550BID can be powered locally with its included power supply or remotely from up to 75 feet away by using an in-wall power injector wall plate Model 2010 or any 5500 series or SVM series modulator.
The Model DA-550BID offers optional IR control of connected video sources and whole house IR integration with a built-in 12-volt IR engine. Adding a Model 2100A wall plate and a 12-volt IR target to the coax run of any room allows IR signals to be routed to either a Model 2010 wall plate, 5500 series, or SVM series modulator.
Features
  • 54 MHz to 1 GHz forward bandwidth
  • 5 MHz to 42 MHz reverse bandwidth
  • 3 dB nominal gain on TV outputs
  • Maximum input level 20 dBmv
  • Can be used in locations without electrical access and powered remotely with a ChannelPlus modulator or the Model 2010 wall plate
  • 6.5" W x 1.25" H x 4.5" D
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 08:33 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split


Because it degrades the signal even further, and will not do anything to improve an already crappy signal from the provider. As for the amp that williswires posted, it is only for Digital TV when you are trying to improve the quality of Over The Air. Analog Cable, which is quickly going away so that providers can encrypt the signal of their service & provide over a 100% digital system, which this amp also helps only if the signal is Analog, not Digital.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY phone junction box for cable telephone service eastie Electrical 5 06-17-2009 07:45 AM
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
SE cable next to coaxial cable moondog111 Electrical 6 11-12-2008 03:12 PM
Coaxial Cable blew tv, computer etc... ozflow Electrical 4 10-13-2008 07:06 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.