Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2011, 01:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coax Amplifier


I have 6 coax outlets in my house all wired to a central data box. I'll need one more split if I were to use a cable modem for internet. Will I need an amplified splitter? At what point will I need one?

I would like this setup to work whether I choose the source to be from the cable company or a rooftop antennae, all feeding the 6 outlets. Of course with rooftop antennae setup, I would not be using the cable modem.

acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 02:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Coax Amplifier


It is hard to say whether or not you need a coax amplifier because this depends on the signal strength from the antenna or the cable line, but splitting six ways probably will need a splitter even if only one of the branches has a TV hooked up to it at the moment.

Ordinary distribution amplifiers for coax don't work with internet. You would need a "bidirectional" amplifier (passes data from the computer back up to the cable modem as well).

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 02:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coax Amplifier


been searching but havent found anything. How do you figure out signal strength?

As for bidirectional, I would you'd need it for all coax ports since nowadays its all about on-demand which I'm sure the cable box has to phone home for.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 08:36 AM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Coax Amplifier


You will really need to take measurements, either with the modem or cable set tep, if the later offers that option. The easiest way, is to set up an appt with your cable co. to come and take the mrasurements, to see if you are good for the new line.

Keep in mind, cascading splitters will cause problems, along with poor connectors.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 10:21 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Coax Amplifier


One way would be to add a two way splitter with one output feeding the cable modem and the other feeding your existing splitter. If you find your TV signal needs a boost you could add the amplifier between the two way and six way splitter.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 11:00 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Coax Amplifier


To add to my previous, you can not mix the cable modem on a ota system. If running a mixed system, the only place for the amp, will be ota.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 11:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coax Amplifier


For best performance, split your incoming cable with a 2-way first...one to your cable modem, the other to your amplifier (learned this from the cable internet service guy who came to find out why my service was intermittent).

As was already said, you need a bi-directional amplifier. I use the Channel-Plus DA550BID http://www.linearcorp.com/product_de...?productId=190
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 03:07 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coax Amplifier


how about this from amazon?
http://www.amazon.com/Bi-Directional.../dp/B000WDR94U

much less expensive. and good reviews on amazon.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 03:07 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coax Amplifier


how about this from amazon?
http://www.amazon.com/Bi-Directional.../dp/B000WDR94U

much less expensive. and good reviews on amazon.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:25 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Coax Amplifier


You do not need it, unless you really are seeing problems with CATV. Again, if going with OTA for tv viewing, that amp is overkill, and not going to do anything for you. How many tv sets are actually going to be hooked up and watching tv at any given time?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 11:13 AM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Coax Amplifier


Every time you use a splitter, you are cutting the signal by 3db (half power). A 2-way splitter drops the signal at each output by half. A 3-way to 1/3rd.....get the idea?

One important note....the 'internet' portion of your cable signal is at the upper freq band of your cable...close to 1 GHz. So, you need to make sure that your splitter is good for 1 GHz....a lot of the older ones are only good to about 750 MHz. If you use one of those before you cable modem, you won't get internet. AMHIK.

The cable company 'typically' drives the signal pretty good....but if you have more than 3-4 passive ports....then your starting to get into the mud.

As mentioned above....use a 1 GHz 2-way splitter before the modem...one to the modem, the other to the other ports. If the TV's work fine....don't worry about an amp.

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs fried: Electrical vs. Comcast Coax Cable Problem LynOprinka Electrical 17 07-16-2012 09:01 PM
How to run new cable to outside? hoggin03 Carpentry 2 08-25-2010 10:29 AM
unwanted voltage on coax sat-man Electrical 4 09-19-2008 08:36 AM
Tips on Running Coax handy man88 Electrical 2 08-29-2008 01:07 PM
Coax cable removal or disconnect RobbC2 Electrical 3 04-14-2007 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.