Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2007, 01:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Hello all,
not sure if I have made a real mess. I got a new dryer and realized I have a 4 prong outlet. The dryer has 3 prong cord that I easily switched to a 4 prong cord. Before that, I admit, I did the stupidest thing anyone can ever imagine and plugged the cord to the outlet before attaching it to the dryer. Of course sparks flew and was lucky I didnt get shocked. Dont ask why I did this. it was a long day of moving and running around that i have no idea where my mind was. I unplugged it and then attached it to the dryer and did it the correct order. then got no power and then I switched out both the outlet and cord for a new ones. I still didnt get any power.

my question is, did i screw up my breaker? I didnt see any fuses to switch out. Am I missing something?

thank you so much for any advice. and please dont lecture me on the mishap of the first cord. i know already what dumb mistake that was.

homercavazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:18 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Did you try to reset the breaker?
It must be turned to the off position then turned on to work.
When a breaker trips, it trips into the middle position.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 10-29-2007 at 09:15 PM. Reason: poor spelling!
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:27 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


You surely tripped a breaker when your little mishap occurred. By seeing no fuses I assume you mean you don't have any....only breakers.

Have you positively identified the double pole breaker that controls the dryer?

If you know which breaker do you have it turned back to the "on" position and it held and did not trip back out?

Do you by chance have more than one breaker panel in the house?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Thanks everyone. when the mishap happened i turned off all the switches, installed new outlet and tried again. when i get home tonight, i will double check if i didnt miss anything. I may have missed a switch. i did notice the top two connected switched in the middle. i will also double check to see if i dont have another breaker panel.

thanks for the quick reply.
homercavazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 04:02 PM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Post back. I'm dying to hear how it turned out. Was it exciting?? It's always more exciting when you buck phases than when you simply short to ground.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 01:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


thanks everyone. it works perfectly. i think i found my new favorite site. :-)
homercavazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 02:15 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by homercavazos View Post
thanks everyone. it works perfectly. i think i found my new favorite site. :-)
What did you find wrong?????

PLease, Please!!!!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 03:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Homer,
Please keep us up to date on all your future DIY projects.
Protect the children.
Take Care.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 04:14 PM   #9
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Clothes Dryer / Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by JGarth View Post
Homer,
Please keep us up to date on all your future DIY projects.
Protect the children.
Take Care.
WTF??

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 04:33 PM
outlet for a dryer econdave Electrical 16 08-16-2007 05:47 AM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 10:21 AM
Clothes dryer functioning but no hot air Squeeealer Electrical 3 10-03-2005 09:53 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.