Cloth Covered Romex WTH? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-21-2012, 03:12 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Cloth covered Romex WTH?

Hi, I just moved into this house. A large part of it is wired with something I've never seen before. It can best be described as Cloth covered romex. Not only is the jacket cloth covered, but so are the individual wires.

It appears to be 12-2 w/o ground. I'll be replacing some of it a circuit at a time, because of the no ground thing. I have some experience in electrical, so I feel that the job is within my skillset.

But, what's the deal with this wire? Is it good, bad, horrible, or a fire waiting to happen?

As I said, I never saw it before. The house was built in 1946.

Thanks in advance

Advertisement

Signal Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:50 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Cloth covered Romex WTH?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_wiring

Cables</SPAN>

Wiring for extremely wet conditions
Armoured cables with two rubber-insulated conductors in a flexible metal sheath were used as early as 1906, and were considered at the time a better method than open knob-and-tube wiring, although much more expensive.
The first polymer-insulated cables for building wiring were introduced in 1922. These were two or more solid copper electrical wires with rubber insulation, plus woven cotton cloth over each conductor for protection of the insulation, with an overall woven jacket, usually impregnated with tar as a protection from moisture. Waxed paper was used as a filler and separator.