Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

closet lighting


I have an existing light that is a pull chain type. I would like to install a switch in the closet and use that to control the light. How do I do that conversion.

thanks,
Charles

toothcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 06:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,780
Default

closet lighting


Take a cable from the light location to the switch location.
At the light, connect the black from the power source to the white going to the switch.
Mark this wire with a black marker or tape.
At the switch connect the black and white wire to each side of the switch.
Back at the light connect the black from the switch to the black of the light, and the white from the power source to the white of the light.
Turn the breaker back on and enjoy the siwch!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 07-28-2010 at 04:59 PM. Reason: Thanks Tipsy!
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 60
Default

closet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
...and the white from the power source to the light of the light.
Should this say, "and the white from the power source to the white of the light?"

Tipsy
TipsyMcStagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:00 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,780
Default

closet lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by TipsyMcStagger View Post
Should this say, "and the white from the power source to the white of the light?"

Tipsy
Yep, and I fixed it!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

closet lighting


The least destructive way is to use wiremold to make your runs. I believe they even make surface mount wire boxes so you could use that for the switch. I did something similar a while back but in my case the switch already existed, and I wanted the light on the outside of the closet, not inside.

Some pics here: http://gal.redsquirrel.me/?level=picture&id=933
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:32 AM   #6
Member
 
gmhammes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 476
Default

closet lighting


motion sense light...lol no switch needed!
gmhammes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:40 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

closet lighting


Depending on the municipality and rehab codes, you might not even be able to re-install that light fixture.

Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are my options as far as lighting a closet? Shrute Electrical 2 03-13-2010 05:49 PM
Linen Closet Lighting stubits Electrical 24 06-19-2009 11:32 PM
simple closet lighting theboss Electrical 8 02-16-2009 08:56 PM
Hardwood closet threshold question DIY-Renovator Flooring 1 07-27-2008 04:42 AM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 08:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.