Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2006, 11:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Hey, I just installed a 20" lcd panel on the wall of my kitchen and would like to re-locate the receptacle. The current one is already about 4 feet off the floor, but to look clean I need it 2 feet up and over. I know I need to install a new box, but how should I handle it if the current wires won't reach the new destination? I don't want to splice myself into a dangerous situation. Thanks!

toddgfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 11:33 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,798
Rewards Points: 30
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Leave the exsisting box and tap into it, run your new wire to the location you want and install your clock receptacle.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 04:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 0
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Quote:
Originally Posted by toddgfd
I know I need to install a new box, but how should I handle it if the current wires won't reach the new destination? I don't want to splice myself into a dangerous situation. Thanks!
And you don't want to eliminate a receptacle that's intended for the countertop

Just out of curiosity, can I ask what you mean by "clock" receptacle?

Also a question for another electrician; since this outlet is being tapped from a receptacle that is intended to serve the counter top, would the new one need to be GFI protected?
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 05:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Why didn't I think of that? This will be easier than I thought. This wall is in a kitchen, but not near water, so no gfci concerns. I heard the term clock receptacle a while back that referred to the outlet that was installed high on a wall with no other reason than to power a wall clock.
toddgfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 06:27 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,798
Rewards Points: 30
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


I missed the part about being in a kitchen. If that is the case, you can not tap into this circuit. Is there another room on the other side of the wall that you can use a receptacle?

A clock recptacle is a recess box with an outlet inside so the clock plugs in without the cord hanging down the wal.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Quote:
I missed the part about being in a kitchen. If that is the case, you can not tap into this circuit. Is there another room on the other side of the wall that you can use a receptacle?
Check out 210.52 (B) The OP is required to use the SA circuit or run an additioinal 20 amp circuit for this. If the room on the other side of the wall were a living room then to use that circuit would be illegal.

Quote:
And you don't want to eliminate a receptacle that's intended for the countertop
Exactly. What was the original outlet for?

Quote:
This wall is in a kitchen, but not near water, so no gfci concerns.
Under the newest code all outlets in the kitchen need to be GFCI protected. The six foot to the sink rule has been changed. What version are they using in your area?

Last edited by jwhite; 06-07-2006 at 04:03 AM.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 06:00 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite
Check out 210.52 (B) The OP is required to use the SA circuit or run an additioinal 20 amp circuit for this. If the room on the other side of the wall were a living room then to use that circuit would be illegal.
Not really. The two 20a SA circuits is a minimum. A dedicated receptacle behind a permanently mounted TV can be anything you want, once the code minimum is met. If it were a free standing TV you would be correct.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite
Under the newest code all outlets in the kitchen need to be GFCI protected. The six foot to the sink rule has been changed. What version are they using in your area?
Only receptacles serving the counters require GFI. Not the whole kitchen. This is not a commercial kitchen.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 03:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

"Clock Receptacle"


Edit out


Last edited by jwhite; 06-07-2006 at 03:18 PM.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.