Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2010, 12:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

clamp meters


i'm an amateur electrician and i've wired up most of my house at this point so i think i have a decent grasp of the basics. my question is about clamp meters. it seems that the pros use them all the time. what am i missing out on by not having one? i've heard you can detect faulty wiring if you have and and know how to interpret the data properly.
what i'm looking to know is: what kinds of things can a clamp meter tell you that might be helpful in residential wiring? and, how do you interpret the data that it gives you in a useful way?
thanks in advance.

aptpupil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:24 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

clamp meters


Clamp meters measure current (amps).

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:06 PM   #3
ojc
Newbie
 
ojc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 21
Default

clamp meters


You can turn on all the appliances on one circuit and see what your amp draw is. If you over what ever you deem reasonable for that circuit (check your local code), then you should rethink your scheme.

If the clamp is actually a multimeter, then there are lots of other things you can do with it...find bad wires....trace wires....etc.

ojc
ojc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
Insert catchy title here
 
AppleMac*Fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 79
Default

clamp meters


Everything you ever wanted to know about meters and how to use them...

Fluke FREE training

Good stuff, from how to use a multimeter to residential electrical/HVAC troubleshooting and even how to troubleshoot outboard boat engines and electric cars.
AppleMac*Fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 12:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

clamp meters


As a homeowner, a clamp meter would be a waste of money. Chances are you would never need it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
multimeter


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one service main two meters danadude1 Electrical 15 02-28-2010 12:17 AM
# of wires per NM Cable clamp joehomeowner Electrical 5 06-15-2009 01:41 PM
GE cl200 kwa meters protechplumbing Electrical 15 09-22-2008 11:10 PM
Clamp Meter Findings jamiedolan Electrical 16 09-08-2008 08:13 PM
Clamp on Amp Tester Help stagger19 Electrical 3 03-07-2007 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.