Clamp On Amp Tester Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2007, 07:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Clamp on Amp Tester Help


Hi, I just purchased a GB amp/Volt clamp on tester Model GCM-221.

I tried to measure the amps of a wire, and after clamping the tester around the wire, I was unable to obtain anything. After a quick check in the manual, it states u have to take the reading from either the Hot or the nuetral wire, not both.

Is this a lower end model and thus why I have to clamp on a single wire (Hot or Nuetral) to get an amp reading, or do all of these testers work this way?

Thanks in Advance....

Advertisement

stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 08:02 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Clamp on Amp Tester Help


It's not because it's a lower end model (if it is). It's because +120 and -120 cancel each other out to zero. I don't know of ANY amp-clamp that will read amperage when clamped over both sides of a cable.

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 08:53 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Clamp on Amp Tester Help


If it is just a plug in item you are checking there are adapter available. You plug the adapter into the wall and then plug the item into the adapter. Then you clamp the meter around the loop in the splitter.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2007, 09:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Clamp on Amp Tester Help


Ok thanks for the replies. Its the normal clamp around type.
stagger19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts