Circuits In Garage And GFCI - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2012, 04:00 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuits in Garage and GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
That exception has also been removed.
For clarification, my locality (Cabarrus County, NC) has not yet adopted the 2011 NEC code and is still going by the 2008 code. As such, I have to install an equipotential bonding grid around my portable hot tub which would not be the case with the 2011 code.

Best Regards,

Ted

Advertisement

tedallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 04:08 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuits in Garage and GFCI


Is there a specific code requirement regarding how close a receptacle in the garage may be to a service entrance door? Also, any minimum/maximum height from floor requirement if installed on a wall as opposed to in the ceiling?

There is an existing GFCI receptacle that I need to relocate to make room for the second breaker panel I am installing and one option is to install it in the narrow stud cavity between the new panel and a service entrance door. Also, if going that route, would there be a code issue with mounting the outlet within a studs width of the main breaker panel (the breaker panel door and the outlet cover might come close to touching one another). If I attempt to use the existing wiring running to/from the GFCI receptacl I would most certainly have to raise the receptacle higher on the wall in the new location.

Also, is there a code prohibiting installation of receptacles for two different circuits in a common gang box (e.g. a 2-gang box with a receptacle as part of a 20 amp circuit and a receptacle as part of a 15 amp circuit, GFCI or standard)?

Best Regards,

Ted
tedallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 07:35 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,011
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Circuits in Garage and GFCI


No issue with either having 2 circuits in a common box or with a receptacle close to the panel or a service door.

The two grounds from the circuits need to be connected together.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
tedallen (05-24-2012)
Old 05-24-2012, 07:55 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuits in Garage and GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
No issue with either having 2 circuits in a common box or with a receptacle close to the panel or a service door.

The two grounds from the circuits need to be connected together.
Jim,

Do you mean that the two ground from the different circuits need to be connected together within the gang box (the line side of each circuit tied together and also connected to the ground screws of the load devices in the gang box) or do you mean that the grounds need to be connected back at the source of the circuit run on a common ground bus (or neutral bus if bonded to the ground bus)?

When using a dual-lug meter box with two main breaker panels (each having neutral and ground bonded together), would you want to connect the grounds from circuits originating from the two different panels together or only circuits originating from the same breaker panel? Since both panels have neutral bonded to ground and both are being supplied a common neutral from a single meter box, the grounds are already tied together at the origination point regarldess of which panel the circuit originates from. Is this correct?

Best Regards,

Ted
tedallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 08:03 PM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,011
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Circuits in Garage and GFCI


I was assuming you wanted something like two receptacles, each on one circuit in a 2 gang box. In this case the bare or greens are tied together to each other and to the devices.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage GFCI keeps tripping faromic Electrical 7 08-30-2011 11:45 PM
Garage Door GFCI jamiedolan Electrical 7 07-31-2011 10:14 PM
Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem woodworkerjeff Electrical 23 04-06-2011 01:34 PM
Garage GFCI Circuits H2O Engr Electrical 6 01-20-2010 08:22 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 04:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts