Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


I have a circuit that I want to make, but I want to be absolutely certain it is safe, and that an electrician would not scowl at the sight of it.

The story is this: I want to move my washer and dryer to another room which currently has an overhead light and nothing else. It will need a fresh circuit. Also, on the way to this room, I want to run a circuit to the garage for my Miller MIG welder. Below is my proposed setup, from start to finish.



One thing to note: the welder would almost never be used when the dryer is also in use. In the off chance it is, it would not be drawing its maximum of 23A, more like 1/2 or even 1/3 of that. Also, it does not use neutral, just pure 230v.

Is this setup "legal"? I am in Ontario.

bossmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Everything looks on except, the washer has to be on a 20A circuit.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 09:00 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Everything looks on except, the washer has to be on a 20A circuit.
You need a 20 amp laundry circuit, not a washing machine circuit. I know i'm probably splitting hairs, but it is was it says.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-13-2012 at 09:02 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 10:27 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,780
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You need a 20 amp laundry circuit, not a washing machine circuit. I know i'm probably splitting hairs, but it is was it says.
Might not be required in Canada!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 10:29 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,083
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Might not be required in Canada!
True...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:36 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


15a is fine. Will the new laundry location have a Washbasin?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
15a is fine. Will the new laundry location have a Washbasin?
I was not planning on it. I was going to prop up the washer and have it in a water tray thing (I forget the name) which would then drain into an existing floor drain. (The floor goes uphill to the drain slightly, that's why propping it up would be necessary).

Thanks for the replies.
bossmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:42 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by bossmc View Post
I was not planning on it. I was going to prop up the washer and have it in a water tray thing (I forget the name) which would then drain into an existing floor drain. (The floor goes uphill to the drain slightly, that's why propping it up would be necessary).

Thanks for the replies.
Sounds like a wet location. GFCI receptacle?
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 09:47 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Circuits for dryer, washer, and welder


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton

Sounds like a wet location. GFCI receptacle?
Washer doesn't have to be gfci protected as long as its not accessable for day to day use. With a washbasin though I believe another plug would need to be added and that one would have to be gfci protected.

Edit: laundry room, washbasin or not, needs the second receptacle.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 08-14-2012 at 09:57 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.