Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 08:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Circuit trips with 2 light switches


I have 2 light switches, NOT 3-ways, wired on the same line. There's no other wire coming off of the 2nd light switch. When both light switches are on, the circuit trips every time.

If I replace the 2nd light switch with an outlet, everything works fine.

Why? Can I not have 2 light switches on one line?

PS: I didn't want to go into the lengthy explanation of why I have 2 light switches on one line... it's only temporary.

sylercider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,411
Default

Circuit trips with 2 light switches


What connections are made at the switches? At the receptacle?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Circuit trips with 2 light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
What connections are made at the switches? At the receptacle?
Uuuuh, I'm not sure what you mean. I'm using 14 gauge w/ground.

I'm trying to move the first switch, so I connected a 2nd switch to the end of the first switch's line where a wall light used to be. The first switch is still in the wall and I've never taken off the plate to look at its connection.

The 2nd switch is simply connected with the white & black wire, and then the ground. There doesn't seem to be a specific place to put the hot vs white wire on the switch, so I just put one wire per screw.

Thanks for the reply.
sylercider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

Circuit trips with 2 light switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by sylercider View Post
I'm trying to move the first switch, so I connected a 2nd switch to the end of the first switch's line where a wall light used to be.
The wires at the wall light that you removed are a hot and a neutral. When you replaced the light with a switch, you are creating a dead short at the second switch when you turn it on, tripping the breaker as designed.

Can't do that.

(that is also why a receptacle works in that spot).

Since this is a basic electrical concept of home wiring, please get yourself a DIY Electrical Basics book at H. Depot or Lowes to learn the basics of wiring, or have an electrician do the work so you don't get hurt.
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can 15 A light switch be used on a 20 A circuit? Mi Feller Electrical 26 07-22-2010 04:42 PM
light switches Petrafire Electrical 2 07-12-2010 01:13 PM
900W and up trips breaker, Circuit draws power even with everything off... jasonblu Electrical 40 12-09-2009 02:29 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Please Help! 3 way switches controling 2 light fxtures. HelloMotto Electrical 50 09-01-2009 08:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.