Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit questions


I'm trying to understand how to arrange circuits.

1-Can you put 2 bathrooms on the same circuit? My underdstanding not too
2-Can you put whole second floor lighting(3 bedrooms, 1 hallway, 1 walk in closet) on the same circuit?
3-Is 2 circuit enugh for the outlets for badrooms and halway?
Thanks.
Ismail

ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Circuit questions


A 20 amp circuit can serve more than 1 bathroom if only the receptacles are on that circuit.

As far as the lighting circuit, more info is needed. How many fixtures are going to be installed? What size bulbs? Will this circuit be shared with the bedroom receptacles?

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 04:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcamaro View Post
I'm trying to understand how to arrange circuits.

1-Can you put 2 bathrooms on the same circuit? My underdstanding not too


You cannot put a new bathroom receptacle onto an existing bathroom receptacle circuit, unless the existing bathroom's receptacle is on it's own dedicated 20a circuit. (Nothing else sharing that circuit, lights, other room receptacles etc...) In which case, all you could add to that existing 20a dedicated bathroom receptacle circuit is other bathroom convenience receptacles only. (No lights, fans, etc...)

You cannot branch off an existing bathroom's 20a circuit if the existing bathroom's 20a circuit also feeds lights or other items within the original bathroom.

If the existing bathroom circuit is less than 20a, or it feeds other receptacles and lights in bedrooms, hallways, livingrooms, etc, then you cannot consider this circuit usualbe within a new bathroom at all.


Quote:
2-Can you put whole second floor lighting(3 bedrooms, 1 hallway, 1 walk in closet) on the same circuit?


You can load a 15a lighting circuit up to 1420 watts. A 20a circuit to 1800 watts.

Quote:
3-Is 2 circuit enugh for the outlets for badrooms and halway?
Thanks.
Ismail
Measure the entire sq. ft of all bedrooms & hallway and multiply by 3 watts. If you have less than 600 sq ft x 3 = 1800 watts than a 15a circuit is all you will need, by code minimums. That could include as many receptacles as you would like. But don't expect to be able to run 3 window air conditioners...
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:15 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit questions


Bedroom lights (and all other bedroom outlets) need to be AFCI unless your region has exempted that part of the code. Therfore usually only bedrooms are grouped together on those circuits.
If your region is on 2008 code many more things need to be AFCI as well.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 12:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit questions


So looks like I will put each bathroom with their own lighting in separate circuit. 2 other circuit for the outlets ( about 845 sf, 3 bedroom 1 hallway 1 walk in closet) and 1 light circuit( about 7 lights). total of 5 circuit.

And I dont know if NJ wants AFCI.
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 09:07 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit questions


no more response?
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 09:32 AM   #7
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by ptcamaro View Post
no more response?
c'mon, give everyone a break... it's sunday morning! People are either sleeping in or at church!


Call yout local AJH and ask them if AFCI breakers are required where you are.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 10:47 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
c'mon, give everyone a break... it's sunday morning! People are either sleeping in or at church!


Call yout local AJH and ask them if AFCI breakers are required where you are.
i forgot, bec. I'm working today. lol.
ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 11:37 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Circuit questions


Putting one bathroom light on one circuit is overkill. Several rooms would be more like it. I like to keep lights and recepts seperate. So, for an example, I have five rooms with one fixture in each ceiling. All would go on 1 circuit and I still could add more later. It's how you load these lighting circuits that matters. Some ceiling fans have like 5 light sockets in them. Someone could put 5 - 100 watt bulbs in that fan fixture. So just use some common sense and don't use any more breakers than you need.

PS.....Do not use bulbs of higher wattage than what the fixture will allow.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 02:59 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
[/i]
You can load a 15a lighting circuit up to 1420 watts. A 20a circuit to 1800 watts.
Unless you are quoting a local code, this is not true for general purpose circuits in a dwelling unit.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 10:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Putting one bathroom light on one circuit is overkill.
Actualy, I meant lighting and receptacles in one circuit for each bathroom.

ptcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 03:25 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.