Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2011, 02:04 PM   #1

Share |

Circuit question

Hi everyone--

I'm new to this forum--it looks like a great place to get my questions answered, and possibly answer a few from folks.

I am not an electrician, just the basic hardware handyman type.
OK, so here's a question for you electrician folks...

The other day I helped a friend who needed to change an outlet that had acted funny (hit or miss with power when plugging something in). I opened the breaker to the outlet circuit, removed the outlet--didn't visually see anything wrong-- but decided to get a new one anyway. (The connection has two 14 gauge hots, two 14 gauge neutrals and ground, it was also a direct connection--that is, no piggybacking--which tells me its like a series circuit). I needed to go the store to get another outlet and couldn't return till the next day, so for the time being I wire nutted the hots, and electrically taped the neutrals (because I couldn't find another wire nut at time) and put them back in the box. The I closed the breaker, the hots were hot AND the neutrals became hot as well! The other two outlets I checked were all hot as well.
I called a buddy who told me I should wire nut the neutrals as well--so I looked and finally found a wirenut and hooked it up. Everything was fine after that--
There are possibly a bunch of outlets on this circuit (it's a big house w/ a few roommates), lights, etc...
So why did the neutrals become hot? Was the tape not holding the connection together? Even so, I don't get why they became energized...

Thanks for the help!

Tommy70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 02:26 PM   #2
Master Electrician

Circuit question

A. How did you determine they were hot?
B. Was there any thing else plugged into other receptacles on the circuit?

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 02:47 PM   #3