Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2007, 08:29 PM   #1
Work Panda
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buzzzzzzzzzzz Off
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Circuit Problems - Garage


I have a slight problem.

Today the garage's power died - the garage door doesn't work. It can be manually opened, but it is a pain in the !

Playing around with the circuit breaker we realized that the garage is COMPLETELY dead, it is linked to the bathroom on the ground floor (same circuit), but the bathroom works, the garage does not. We hooked the door and refrigerator with extension cords.. but it does really look that great.


All the other circuits operate fine. Only the garage and an outlet right inside the garage-to-house door are out.

If you have a question I will be happy to answer you and I thank anyone who will try to help me!

PS I would include a circuit layout of the house... but I can't get it to attach.

DisturbedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 08:43 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


Check all the switches and receptacles on that circuit, whether working or not. (Power OFF, please ) Look for wires that are loose, or have come off completely.

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 02:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,642
Rewards Points: 1,104
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


Look for a GFCI somewher and reset it. If it's not a GFCI trip and only part of a circuit is working you might have a break or loose wire arcing somewhere that will burn your house down. Call an electrician asap!
jogr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 02:22 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


My money is on a tripped GFCI receptacle. Probably hidden behind a cabinet or some boxes. Maybe fed through the bathroom GFCI recepatcle.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 03:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


I think you need to open up the outlet and the garage device box to test the voltage.... I know people say this is dangereous etc etc... but this I will do, turn of the main panel breaker, then open up the outlet and the garage, visually see if there is any burned part or loose wire... if not... then you need to test if there are voltage at the hot wire, use a voltage tester (the best is those with light and sound).... turn on the main panel, test the all the hot wires in the open up device boxes ... found if there are any one live... this step got to be executed carefully and no vibrating hand which touch the hot wire and ground at the same time..etc. if you do find one hot wire live... then you are in good shape and the device box which has that hot wire is your malfunction place and go from there.... forget to say, all hot wire suppose to be black.
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 06:52 PM   #6
Work Panda
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Buzzzzzzzzzzz Off
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Circuit Problems - Garage


After turning off the entire house I turned on all the switches (including the "test" switch) and the outlet and garage are not operating. I tested every outlet in the house and only the garage outlet and the other one in the door area are out.


The garage door is plugged into an outlet that runs from a light bulb, however the light bulb is operating and the garage door is not.

Thats to anyone who answered me - but I'm going to call an electrician (someone suggested this, so thank you).
DisturbedPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:25 PM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


Let us know what he/she finds.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 04:01 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


it main power outlet is ok,you should try to use voltage meter and select to "ohm position" it not any reading that main the problem from garage motor is burn.before that ac plug is not connect check the garage motor fuse...
cryingeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 08:40 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


Base on your updated description, as the light bulb is ok, but the power plug to the garage open is not, that means circuit was broken from the point the light bulb to the gargage opener outlet.... there should be only two possible locations for problem:

1., most likely one: should open up the device box of the garage opener outlet to examine ... it could be a loose wire... or the outlet itself got burned ..etc.... you need a voltage tester to do the testing.....

2. the light bulb device box...see the wire from there got loosen up...

Last edited by KUIPORNG; 08-03-2007 at 08:45 AM.
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 09:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit Problems - Garage


I don't know how many amps the opener is rated for, but I would make sure the light wire is at least 12 gauge and see what all else is on that circuit. If you have 14 gauge wire at the light, I would think you would stand a chance of ruining the opener motor, not to mention maybe starting a fire if too much is on that circuit (14 gauge). That fridge on the same circuit as the opener? Takes a pretty good jolt for some the compressors to start. More than the amps it takes to run the compressor. Fridge should really be on its own 20 amp (12 gauge) circuit. If all plugs are dead, take one of the 3 prongs testers and check all the way back toward source of power. If one plug is dead, anything on the same circuit down stream will be dead. Unless it is wired like my old shop was. It was wired parallel. Main leads going along the top inside of walls with leads branching down to eac rec.

boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moisture problems when 'heating only when needed' in insulated garage? timg HVAC 10 01-18-2007 05:38 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM
Circuit Wiring for Garage Fluorescents realeyz Electrical 6 12-26-2005 03:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.