Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2007, 04:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this circuit possible?


Hi all,

Please forgive what may be a silly question, but I'm trying to add some undercabinet lights - this diagram may help...



Where exactly does the switch get connected to the main line from the panel that controls those 2 outlets? Do I add a box in the basement?

Thanks,
Sean

webguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 04:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this circuit possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by webguy View Post
Hi all,



Where exactly does the switch get connected to the main line from the panel that controls those 2 outlets? Do I add a box in the basement?

Thanks,
Sean
Have you purchased the undercabinet lights yet?

They sell undercabinet lights that already have a small on/off switch on them.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 05:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is this circuit possible?


The kitchen counter top recepticle circuit is not allowed by code to serve any other loads. Under cabinet lights included.

Catch 22 is that if you install extra recepticles on the kitchen counter top, they are by defination "kitchen counter top recepticles" the code specs a minimum number not a maximum number.

So, cord and plug connected undercabinet lights will not work at all.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 05:21 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is this circuit possible?


Well there it is then - thanks for your reply

The wife desperately wants the undercabinet lights controlled by a switch on the wall, so this is no longer a DIY project. Best left to the pro's...

Sean
webguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 08:21 PM
Circuit configuration??? Clutchcargo Electrical 11 05-30-2007 09:01 AM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 09:26 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.