Circuit Out But Circuit Breaker Didn't Trip - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2008, 08:25 PM   #16
Paul
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip


It ended up just being that the fixture wasn't connected properly. I had a ***** of a time getting it connected. The wires were so thick, unbendable and short and I couldn't even get one, let alone all three, under the screw as you are supposed to.

They provide a hole with a spring-loaded metal piece that they say you can use as an alternative, with space only for one of the three twisted wires. I used that. One of the wires was loose.

It simply did not occur to me that it was even on the same circuit. And, even if it was, I thought I eliminated this kind of thing by noting that the light fixture actually worked.

I hired an electrician who re-wired the light fixture and said it was just flaky and vibrations could make it work sporadically. But what I saw was the light fixture always worked and the rest of the circuit never did. Weird!

Paul

Advertisement

PaulenAndrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 01:34 PM   #17
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulenAndrew View Post
It ended up just being that the fixture wasn't connected properly. I had a ***** of a time getting it connected. The wires were so thick, unbendable and short and I couldn't even get one, let alone all three, under the screw as you are supposed to.

They provide a hole with a spring-loaded metal piece that they say you can use as an alternative, with space only for one of the three twisted wires. I used that. One of the wires was loose.

It simply did not occur to me that it was even on the same circuit. And, even if it was, I thought I eliminated this kind of thing by noting that the light fixture actually worked.

I hired an electrician who re-wired the light fixture and said it was just flaky and vibrations could make it work sporadically. But what I saw was the light fixture always worked and the rest of the circuit never did. Weird!

Paul
Unless specificly designed for it, only 1 wire per screw. You should take the fixture back down and use wire nuts. Take a short piece of wire and wire nut it to the rest of the wires, then attach that short piece (pigtail) to the screw.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 09:38 AM   #18
Paul
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip


Thanks. Then why the heck do they make 3 live wires?

I don't know about wire nuts. Are those the things that are like a plastic cap? Honestly, I don't understand what you're saying. Do you have a picture? A separate/new length of wire?

Advertisement

PaulenAndrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Circuit Breaker Test lthomps222 Electrical 16 11-07-2010 05:40 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 03:44 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts