Which Circuit For My Garage A/C? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 11:00 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


Here are the circuits all running into the house through one hole. Wondering how one adds a circuit to go the the garage?

Advertisement

puttster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 11:16 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


Are you certain you know what "detached means". That the garage does not touch the house in any way. It shares no roof with the house. There is no breeze way either. Is this correct?
If the garage is detached you can use one of those open KO's (holes) on the bottom of that service panel.
You do not try and use the opening where all those cables go into the house. Pick a hole in the bottom and run your single circuit, MWBC, or feeder to the DETACHED garage. Your garage is not compliant and not up to code if more than one circuit is going out to it.

Ps..........If you do not use the open holes (KO's) in the bottom of the panel, get some KO plugs and cover them up. They snap right in. Whomever did this work should lose their license if they had one to start with. Or you do not have the ability to describe your issue. Its one or the other. That panel outside like that is very common in my part of the country and I despise it. Are you in SC or the south?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 06:41 PM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


That's not a panel it's an image of an electricians nightmare.

Quote:
Originally Posted by puttster View Post
Here are the circuits all running into the house through one hole. Wondering how one adds a circuit to go the the garage?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (05-09-2012)
Old 05-09-2012, 07:45 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


I see what you're saying. Don't mess with the big hole, screw some conduit/PVC up to the bottom of the box using locknuts and feed the cable in there. Forget the holes in the back of the box?
puttster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:34 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


rrolleston, I wonder what it would measure, if someone took a F.L.I.R. to that mess. Definitely beyond capacity for that 2" piping.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:43 PM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Which circuit for my garage A/C?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
rrolleston, I wonder what it would measure, if someone took a F.L.I.R. to that mess. Definitely beyond capacity for that 2" piping.

With a decent load throughout the house maybe a pretty red spot right at the stuffed pipe.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The 12-Gauge Garage Jack Olsen Project Showcase 28 07-08-2012 11:21 PM
Hallway and garage on same circuit - NEC 2005 fuzzball03 Electrical 10 12-13-2011 10:46 PM
Do I have a Fire Rating Issues with Attached Garage Perry401 Building & Construction 4 04-26-2011 12:58 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Circuit Problems - Garage DisturbedPanda Electrical 9 08-03-2007 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts