Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 10:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


I have a circuit in mind for my basement reno. but need help planning the wiring - perhaps you could assist me ( please write in elementary terms - I'm a simple man! ). What I want to do is:

Panel....to L1...to L2...( both controlled by one switch )...power continues to...L3 ( controlled by it's own switch )....power continues to a double switch ( 1st switch controls a light )....L4....( 2nd switch controls an exhaust fan )...power continues on to...L5 ( controlled by it's own switch )....power continues to L6 ( controlled by it's own switch ).

Hope that is sufficient.

Much appreciated,
DSD

DeepSeaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 12:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


Sounds pretty basic. You can run 2-conductor cable for everything (12 or 14) and route it just as you wrote in you post. Each of your lights will require a switch loop be run to each switch (both conductors are hot, color the white one black on the ends) or you can route your power run through the switch boxes and then a leg up to each light.

Basically you can route power to the light or switch. In my house I chose based on the cable run and which way would take the least wire and which way would stay under the fill count for each size box (limit on how much crap you can stuff in a box).

Don't know if that helped or hurt....by the way, I am not an electrician , so take it for what it's worth.

steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 12:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


oops....sorry, as you wrote in your post except for the first light. Go panel - L1. From L1 you need a switch leg and a cable to L2.
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 12:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1234 View Post
Sounds pretty basic. You can run 2-conductor cable for everything (12 or 14) and route it just as you wrote in you post. Each of your lights will require a switch loop be run to each switch (both conductors are hot, color the white one black on the ends) or you can route your power run through the switch boxes and then a leg up to each light.

Basically you can route power to the light or switch. In my house I chose based on the cable run and which way would take the least wire and which way would stay under the fill count for each size box (limit on how much crap you can stuff in a box).

Don't know if that helped or hurt....by the way, I am not an electrician , so take it for what it's worth.
...very much - thanks!

DSD
DeepSeaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:12 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,535
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


Run the power to each of the switch boxes (panel->box1 ->box2 -> etc.), run single **/2 cable to the lights. Much easier to wire, much easier to work on later, neutrals available at each switch if needed.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Circuit Mapping Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Run the power to each of the switch boxes (panel->box1 ->box2 -> etc.), run single **/2 cable to the lights. Much easier to wire, much easier to work on later, neutrals available at each switch if needed.
Thanks for that option as well.

Regards,
DSD

DeepSeaDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 03:25 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.