Circuit Finder And Tandem Breakers?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 11:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


Hi Guru's,

Does a circuit finder such as this one work well on the tandem/duplex breakers as well?
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...&storeId=10051

The breakers in my panel have been messed with and moved around so many times over the last 28 years (Not by me, I'm only 32) that nothing is labeled correctly anymore. We purchased the house 2 yrs ago now. We have 6 or 8 tandem slots utilized down the bottom of the panel and I want to re-label everything including the tandems correctly. I found a good template here that I can use:
http://www.electriciantalk.com/f2/pa...emplate-10272/

Also, any suggestions on brands for circuit finders will be appreciated.
Thank You,
~S

Advertisement

Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:57 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


It will be hard to isolate a tandem breaker with most testers.
What I do is use a radio, then turn breakers off until the radio quits, then move from receptacle to receptacle to map out the breakers.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:00 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,032
Rewards Points: 2,862
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


I have never had a breaker finder work well with a tandem breaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:06 PM   #4
bpm
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


When I bought my house I also had the problem of my panel being poorly labeled, or incorrectly labeled in many cases. I found the most reliable way to figure it all out was to turn on lights, plug things in, etc. and just switch off breakers until I knew what each breaker controlled. With two people it wasn't too time consuming.
bpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:50 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,506
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


If you use jbfan's radio method, you only need yourself.

I use essentially the same process, but with a clamp light and an extension cord.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:15 PM   #6
bpm
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 27
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


My problem was that I also needed to determine breakers for overhead lights and other things that I couldn't test with a radio. Otherwise, I agree that the radio approach works fine.
bpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:32 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,506
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


for overhead lights
Attached Images
 
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers??


Thanks All for the great advice. I think that's what I'll do, turn everything on except Range, Dryer and Microwave since I already know which circuits/breakers those belong to. I'll use a radio on receptacles and just have my wife walk around upstairs while I'm down at the panel and communicate over the cell phones. Then she can let me know when a light goes out, fan, radio, etc... I'll use the tracer for things I can't find or are unsure of. It's only like 2000sq ft, open/garden style and one floor so it shouldn't take too long.

Plus, I guess this is the only way I'll identify whats on the tandem breakers since it doesn't look like the tracer does a good job of identifying what's on those circuits?

Advertisement

Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts