Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2014, 10:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 43
Share |
Default

Circuit Breakers for Solar and/or Generator?


Hello,

I am making some changes to my home electrical panel with remodeling and trying to plan for the future. Eventually I will add a grid tie-in solar electrical system, as well as whole-house generator (with automatic transfer switch). Will I need to make room on my main panel for circuit breakers to address these or will the electrical connection typically be handled in another way?

There are various options for this, but it seems as though I have seen a wiring diagram that showed the main utility electrical feed going from the meter into equipment that coordinated it with the solar electrical and generator feed, THEN to the main electrical panel for the house downstream. Regardless, circuit breakers on the panel were not addressed.


Peace,
Dr. Z.


Last edited by Zeigh; 02-04-2014 at 10:28 AM.
Zeigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 11:00 AM   #2
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,428
Default

Circuit Breakers for Solar and/or Generator?


I've got a whole house generator with an ATS. Incoming (generator and street) power is routed into the ATS, then to the main panel. Nothing in my main panel was changed.

I do not know how a solar system would tie into this.

__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 12:35 PM   #3
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

Circuit Breakers for Solar and/or Generator?


When using a interactive PV system, the breaker from the inverter must be landed opposite the service.

The breaker must be suitable for backfeed- not marked 'Line' and 'Load'.

The ampacity of the breaker cannot exceed 120% of the rating of the bus in the panel- if the bus is rated at 200 amps, the maximum size of the breaker from the inverter cannot be more than 40 amps.
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 07:38 PM   #4
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

Circuit Breakers for Solar and/or Generator?


Revision- the breaker cannot exceed an additional 20% of the ampacity of the bus in the panel.
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Finder and Tandem breakers?? Skelleyman Electrical 7 10-22-2012 02:06 PM
Main circuit breaker's screws hot even with breaker off? darlingm Electrical 13 01-15-2012 11:44 AM
Outlets on 2 circuit breakers? travesty Electrical 8 04-05-2011 09:19 PM
2 breakers / 1 circuit dn100 Electrical 3 10-03-2010 08:01 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 12:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.