Circuit Breakers - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2004, 04:48 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Circuit Breakers


I am a complete novice when it comes to things electrical. I have a circuit breaker that operates the outside hot tub that is in the off position. When I flick it to the on position it does not stay there (does not trip, it is like there is no spring to keep it in the on position). Is this a worn circuit breaker? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Tony

Advertisement

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 09:11 PM   #2
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Circuit Breakers


Sounds like the breaker is shot. Is the breaker a GFCI? Is it supposed to be? Does the tub have built-in GFCI protection? Are you plugged into a GFCI receptacle? Don't get fried in the tub by not having proper protection. Hire a pro if need be.

Advertisement

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 08:13 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Circuit Breakers


To me it sounds like a tripped breaker.
When a breaker trips you must push it completely to the off position first, then back to the on position.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2004, 01:58 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ft lauderdale
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breakers


Hi. Is anyone out there that can help me use this website? I am having difficulty trying to figure out the chatroom. Is there one general area? Please help, I am feeling very stupid (not to mention tired) right about now. Thanks
teriilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 09:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,267
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Circuit Breakers


The name of the site is "chat room" but the site is actually a forum. sorry for the confusion.

We may switch the name to either
www.diyrepair.com or www.handymanforums.com in the near future to avoid this confusion.

Thanks.
__________________
Nathan

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose." - Jim Elliot
Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuses to circuit breakers!! help!! ilovemyfamily Electrical 5 07-24-2007 08:01 PM
Why do baseboard heaters have 2 circuit breakers? mhaucke Electrical 4 07-08-2007 06:10 PM
Finding "Champion" brand circuit breakers? Jemo Electrical 5 03-11-2007 01:28 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts