Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 01:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breaker, working in reverse


I have found a nice and small load center to replace my inside fuse box. The box, which is carried at Lowes, uses a 220 circuit breaker as the box main breaker. This means the breaker would need to work backwards, IE the constantly powered end is the breaker wire attachment point.

Does this work? is this allowable? Would it pass an inspection?

This breaker in not a built-in breaker. It is a normal 220 V 100A breaker, installed in one corner. I should have dug around in the box further, when I was there, for an explaination.


Last edited by dcwestcott; 04-06-2009 at 01:22 PM.
dcwestcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:13 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Circuit Breaker, working in reverse


If this was the built-in breaker, yes it will work fine. This is how a main breaker needs to work.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 01:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit Breaker, working in reverse


Yes this is perfectly normal - if replacing your main 60 amp Edison base fuse box use nothing smaller than a 100 amp circuit breaker load center. Your question also worries me too - You do know that most poco's won't re-energize your house without a licensed electrician signing off on it right?
hychesee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 02:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breaker, working in reverse


Quote:
Originally Posted by hychesee View Post
Yes this is perfectly normal - if replacing your main 60 amp Edison base fuse box use nothing smaller than a 100 amp circuit breaker load center. Your question also worries me too - You do know that most poco's won't re-energize your house without a licensed electrician signing off on it right?
Yes, Unfortuneatly, I do.
dcwestcott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 03:03 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Circuit Breaker, working in reverse


What your describing is a panel that utilizes a 'backfed' double pole breaker as a main with an installed hold down. The breaker is probably 100 amps. Assuming this panel will be used as your main panel (service equipment) fed from the meter base you need to verify if you have a 100 amp service entrance otherwise you may have too large of a main breaker for the proper protection of the service entrance wiring.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 04-06-2009 at 03:27 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Circuit Breaker Test lthomps222 Electrical 16 11-07-2010 04:40 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
What is the meaning of KA(kilo amps) of a miniature circuit breaker? wkyong Electrical 2 09-12-2008 12:39 AM
Do I need to replace my circuit breaker box? greenlantern Electrical 7 08-11-2008 11:27 PM
HELP!!! Info on changing old fuse box to circuit breaker box BryanR Electrical 2 03-12-2006 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.