Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 07:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


I have a NuHeat floor heating system which needs to be hooked up for this coming winter. The specs say the maximum load is 15A(1800W), an electrician bought a 20A breaker for the panel and had started the installation but never finished it. I need to know if this is the correct breaker or I need a 15A breaker.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Tom
TJTHEBOATER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:44 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,236
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTHEBOATER View Post
I have a NuHeat floor heating system which needs to be hooked up for this coming winter. The specs say the maximum load is 15A(1800W), an electrician bought a 20A breaker for the panel and had started the installation but never finished it. I need to know if this is the correct breaker or I need a 15A breaker.

Thanks in advance for any help,
Tom
What size wire was run to the NuHeat?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:57 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


The wire coming from the installed NuHeat floor is 14 AWG, and the extension that runs to the electrical panel in the basement is 12 AWG. None of the wires are connected yet, FYI
TJTHEBOATER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:59 AM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,236
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJTHEBOATER View Post
The wire coming from the installed NuHeat floor is 14 AWG, and the extension that runs to the electrical panel in the basement is 12 AWG. None of the wires are connected yet, FYI
You have to use a 15 amp breaker if #14 AWG is part of that circuit.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:09 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


So the maximum load amperage doesn't have any affect?
TJTHEBOATER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:26 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,679
Default

Circuit breaker- what amperage do I need?


Are the 14 gauge conductors a part of the branch circuit or are the 14 gauge wires you are talking about part of the floor heat factory assembly? If the wiring from the panel to the connectionn point of the heat assembly is 12 gauge then a 20 amp breaker is appropriate.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Julius793 (09-15-2012), mpoulton (09-16-2012), rjniles (09-15-2012)
Reply

Tags
breaker, circuit, circuit breaker, electical wiring, nuheat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen circuit re-design - Existing is a mess darlingm Electrical 5 12-31-2011 09:45 PM
circuit breaker? blueandyellow Electrical 7 01-30-2011 10:27 PM
Can't get the master circuit breaker properly seated davefoc Electrical 1 03-22-2010 06:17 AM
main circuit breaker amperage kupalino Electrical 13 12-23-2009 08:32 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.