Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 04:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Could someone please explain the difference between a Type Q and Type QP circuit breaker?
I'm dealing with an ITE Load Center.
It has SIEMENS breakers,
I have a 15 AMP, single pole, Q115, Type QP. Others in the panel are Type Q.
So, I said to myself,"What's the difference?"

No luck on just plain google search.

Thanks.


Last edited by orange; 01-12-2009 at 04:45 PM.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 06:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Never seen a Q type.

QP is standard Seimans plug in. MP is Murray and it's the same exacy breaker except for the Q printed on it.

ITE = Seimans

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Never seen a Q type.

QP is standard Seimans plug in. MP is Murray and it's the same exacy breaker except for the Q printed on it.

ITE = Seimans

Yes, I looked again and the Type Q is on the ITE breakers.

The Siemens are QP and QPF (GFI).
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 01:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Question

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Have a Cutler Hammer 200 Amp Load Center, but can't read the model #. it is located in the basement of a residence which was flooded and part of the buss bar is corroded requiring either replacement of the bar or the entire box.

The panel had QP type breakers installed, but I have been told they should not be used in a Cutler Hammer panel. Can someone please help me in telling me what panel would be compatible with these type of breakers.
ctjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:09 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctjester View Post
Have a Cutler Hammer 200 Amp Load Center, but can't read the model #. it is located in the basement of a residence which was flooded and part of the buss bar is corroded requiring either replacement of the bar or the entire box.

The panel had QP type breakers installed, but I have been told they should not be used in a Cutler Hammer panel. Can someone please help me in telling me what panel would be compatible with these type of breakers.
If the panel was flooded, then so were the breakers.

Replace both!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Angry

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Thanks for the advice which didn't answer the question... not the entire basement was flooded so the majority of the breakers are still in good shape. Care to help by answering the question without being snotty?
ctjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:35 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker Type Q vs QP


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctjester View Post
Thanks for the advice which didn't answer the question... not the entire basement was flooded so the majority of the breakers are still in good shape. Care to help by answering the question without being snotty?
I'm not being snotty

If the buss bar is corroded, then you need to replace the panel, because you will not find a replacement buss bar.


This also means you will have some corroded breakers.
Breakers are too cheap in price to put old ones back into a new panel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a/c unit tripping circuit breaker StrandedJoe HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Heat pump circuit breaker pbms pinkertonpv HVAC 11 02-18-2009 09:47 AM
circuit breaker problems nascarstewartfan2007 Electrical 4 09-09-2008 07:46 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.