Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2011, 05:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


The circuit breaker switch that feeds into my bedroom keeps on tripping, but when I look in the breaker box, that switch is not tripped. I switch it off and back on and it lasts for about 5 minutes, then trips again. What could be the problem? Is that switch bad? Do I need to replace it?

Andypl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


have you tried unplugging everything on that breaker and resetting it? there is probably more on that breaker then just the 1 bedroom.

DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:38 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Is it a AFCI type breaker, also who is the manufacturer of the panel, and if possible, how long ago was it inspected (should be a sticker on it). Have you tried swapping that breaker with another of the same amp to see if it does the same. A breaker trips because of either a dead short, worn out, or mis-wiring. They also can overheat because of a load on the circuit caused by too many appliances, which can also trip the breaker. What all is on that circuit, and is it a receptacle, or lighting?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 05:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Only half of my room is on that switch, which includes the ceiling light fixture which has a fan, T.V., two night bed lamps and the alarm system is also plugged into that line. Also we have the cell phone chargers and it's only 15 amps. I don't know the make, but if I try changing it, can I increase the amp from 15 to 20? Will that make a difference?
Andypl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:05 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andypl View Post
Only half of my room is on that switch, which includes the ceiling light fixture which has a fan, T.V., two night bed lamps and the alarm system is also plugged into that line. Also we have the cell phone chargers and it's only 15 amps. I don't know the make, but if I try changing it, can I increase the amp from 15 to 20? Will that make a difference?
Before you can safely change the breaker to 20 amps you would have to verify that all cables and wires that are part of this circuit are 20 gauge. I doubt they are.
The breaker is either tripping from too much current draw or the breaker itself is failing. How old it he house?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
Andypl (06-25-2011)
Old 06-25-2011, 06:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


It's the original switch which dates back to 1986.
Andypl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:43 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


That year pre-dates AFCI breakers.

Your post does not make sense. You say the breaker keeps tripping but when you look in the panel it is not tripped. Breakers do not reset themselves.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:49 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Jim, sounds more like a loose connection in one of the outlets. My guess if it is a trac home, or mobile home, there is the possibility of a back-stab.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:57 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Before you can safely change the breaker to 20 amps you would have to verify that all cables and wires that are part of this circuit are 20 gauge. I doubt they are.
The breaker is either tripping from too much current draw or the breaker itself is failing. How old it he house?
Oops.................
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:59 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Jim, sounds more like a loose connection in one of the outlets. My guess if it is a trac home, or mobile home, there is the possibility of a back-stab.
Might be right Greg. It might be thermal cycling.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-25-2011)
Old 06-25-2011, 08:18 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

Circuit Breaker switch


Jim, and those are what Fire departments call house cookers. Stuff like that keeps them and electricians in business, along with the insurance adjuster.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Circuit breaker JJL Electrical 6 12-28-2009 06:15 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.