Circuit Breaker Is In Reverse - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-05-2011, 03:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

circuit breaker is in reverse

Not being an electrician I may not be using the correct terminology. My question is: In trying to fix a lightbulb switch problem I went to the circuit breaker box and tested each breaker. The way I tested it is with my tester place one wire on the breaker wire and the other on a neutral place within the box. All worked fine except one. That is to say, it appeared not to work until I switched the actual breaker to off. And then my tester light turned on. Obviously this can't be normal, is it? Like most other breaker switches in the box there is only one wire going from inside the wall to the switch box.
Any suggestions as to what I should do about this, if it is not normal?
Thank you

Advertisement

pintree3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:04 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,008

To reset a breaker you must turn it all the way off, and then back on again. Turn the breaker all the way off, then turn it back on again. Test from the wire exiting the breaker to the neutral bus bar located in the panel. There should never be any power on a breaker wire that is turned off. Never.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:07 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

In circuit breaker panels with two rows of circuit breakers, "ON" for the row on the left will be one direction. "ON" for the row on the right will be the other direction.

If you look closely, there might be a 1 and 0 (on and off), or it may say ON and OFF. Or 1/ON and 0/OFF.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:18 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician

Rewards Points: 2,000