Circuit Breaker Is In Reverse - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2011, 03:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

circuit breaker is in reverse


Not being an electrician I may not be using the correct terminology. My question is: In trying to fix a lightbulb switch problem I went to the circuit breaker box and tested each breaker. The way I tested it is with my tester place one wire on the breaker wire and the other on a neutral place within the box. All worked fine except one. That is to say, it appeared not to work until I switched the actual breaker to off. And then my tester light turned on. Obviously this can't be normal, is it? Like most other breaker switches in the box there is only one wire going from inside the wall to the switch box.
Any suggestions as to what I should do about this, if it is not normal?
Thank you

Advertisement

pintree3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 04:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

circuit breaker is in reverse


To reset a breaker you must turn it all the way off, and then back on again. Turn the breaker all the way off, then turn it back on again. Test from the wire exiting the breaker to the neutral bus bar located in the panel. There should never be any power on a breaker wire that is turned off. Never.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

circuit breaker is in reverse


In circuit breaker panels with two rows of circuit breakers, "ON" for the row on the left will be one direction. "ON" for the row on the right will be the other direction.

If you look closely, there might be a 1 and 0 (on and off), or it may say ON and OFF. Or 1/ON and 0/OFF.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 03:18 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker is in reverse


It will be little easier if you tell us what brand name breaker it is some very old one or non standard it will show differnt format vs. of modern one.

I will suggest to take a closer look at one breaker which you test it and not in normal fashon so do as J.V. and Billy Bob mention both gave you a direct answer and for the breaker if malfunction it should Jamais ( Never ) have power on when the breaker handle is in off postion.

But once we know which brand name breaker then we can able give you the instruction on how to R&R { remove and replace } the breaker there is few differnt ways to do it depending on the model itself.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

circuit breaker is in reverse


Could be he is picking up the other side of a 220 appliance but is missing the breaker tie bar
Sammy 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

circuit breaker is in reverse


Thank you all with all your help. The problem is at my parent's home and it deals with the apartment they are renting above it. I have one day left to fix it, if the tenant shows up, then i'll try to see n do what u all suggest. Assuming I may not be able to (due to lack of time) I will have to take a look at it when I return in April--so for now, once again, thanks for all your help. You have been great and I truly appreciate your help and advice.

Advertisement

pintree3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
circuit breaker? blueandyellow Electrical 7 01-30-2011 11:27 PM
A/C unit keeps throwing circuit breaker MofElPaso HVAC 15 05-03-2010 12:06 PM
Can't get the master circuit breaker properly seated davefoc Electrical 1 03-22-2010 07:17 AM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 07:06 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts