Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 02:52 PM   #1
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


I recently installed a circuit breaker and the new one works fine until I put the cover plate back on. The breaker then trips. I was told that maybe a wire was being shorted out by the screws that connect the plate. I checked the box and the only wire that could be touched by the screw is a uncoved ground wire. Could this cause the problem. None of the wires are frayed.

edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,005
Rewards Points: 3,126
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Nope, that would not trip it.
Turn each breaker off and on again to see if one feels differant.
What I'm thinking in your bumping one of them when trying to get that cover on causing it to move.
A breaker in good condition would not do that.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:07 PM   #3
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


The breaker in question is brand new and it is the only breaker that pops when I put the cover on. It is solidly in the slot and doesn't seem to move at all when I put the cover back. I have it in a new slot and the problem persists. Can just putting pressure on the breaker with the frame cause the problem?
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Are you saying it trips with no load on it, simply from the pressure of the cover?

I would swap it with another breaker. If it trips in the new position and the other one does not, I would take it back as defective.

Yes, you could be shorting is somehow, though it is highly unlikely; but that would show up by swapping them.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,005
Rewards Points: 3,126
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Same make and style breaker?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:40 PM   #6
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Yes it trips just with the pressure from the cover, and I have moved this particular breaker to two other areas of the box, with the same results. As stated in another post on this subject, this problem with this particualr circuit has been happening off and on for a few years. And it is always this breaker, no matter where it is located, that pops and eventually goes bad. The other breakers in the box have been there for years with no problems whatsoever. I have rechecked the connections on this breaker and they are solid. BTW, this is a double breaker but I am not sure which of the actual switches is popping, but I know from what is turning off that it is only one part of the breaker, not both.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 04:42 PM   #7
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Same style and compatable make. The last time I went through this problem I changed the breaker to same style AND maker and it made no difference.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:07 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Circuit breaker problem


If the problem has been happening for years it is not the breaker. You need to find the problem in the circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:32 PM   #9
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Which would mean tracing the circuit to all the outlets and switches on those circuits until I find a bad connection? And even if I find a problem switch or outlet, the problem still begins with the cover. No cover, everything works fine, put the cover back on, the breaker MIGHT pop. Last time I had this problem I had the cover on and off 3 or more times until it was positioned properly and the breaker stayed on. Just want to be able to correct this problem without having to go through that again. I know which outlet caused the breaker to pop this time, but when I replaced the breaker there was nothing plugged in to the bad outlet and it still popped. Going crazy. I really dont want to have to get an electrician in.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:40 PM   #10
Blank
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit breaker problem


So instead of paying an electrician to fix what is obviously more than a phantom breaker issue you ask for advice from electricians on here... I understand why they help but expressing you specifically don't want to help support their trade seems a bit unappreciative. Maybe you would like advice or help from the large majority of untrained posters who feel the need to chime in with incorrect advice.
Baxter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:51 PM   #11
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


I apologize. I meant nothing against any electricians. For me it is just a matter of finances. I am retired with little income so of course I would like to use the people like yourself to help me without the expense. When I am satisfied that I cannot fix the problem even with your expertise, I will be the first to be on the telephome to bring in assistance, at any cost. So to all in the various construction industries again I apologize.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:00 PM   #12
Blank
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Understood. I get frustrated at that situation. No worries. Best of luck with your issue sir. There are several very solid electricians on this site who should be if help shortly. Have a good evening.
Baxter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:13 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Circuit breaker problem


Could you post a good picture of the panel maybe we can spot something you are missing?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:53 PM   #14
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Circuit breaker problem


I will try to post a picrure of the circuit box and the panel door. I took a few pictures but there are so many wires I don't know if they will do any good. I will send a picture of the full box and the breaker giving me the problem, and the panel cover. Breaker fits in the large hole on the bottom right of the door.May take awhile to upload the picturesl.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:00 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Circuit breaker problem


You have said:
1) You have had problems with this breaker for years.
2) It is is brand new
3) The breaker causes trouble wherever you put it.

Since you are contradicting yourself, no one is likely to be able to help you.

Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit works on one breaker and not another kbhcdh Electrical 2 01-12-2013 05:45 PM
Circuit Breaker Bob Guercio Electrical 10 10-29-2011 03:19 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 08:52 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 01:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.