Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2010, 01:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

circuit breaker height


HI, i am installing a subfloor in my laundry room. My circuit breaker is currenty at 46in and after i install the floor it will be 26in from the floor. I have been reading the North Carolina electric standards and cant seem to find a reqired minimal height. Does anyone know if there is a required height?

ACE II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 01:49 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

circuit breaker height


Hi and welcome.

Mine is at 26" exactly, and passed inspection.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

circuit breaker height


Thanks .......... it would cost some dough to have it raised, i dont want to if i dont have to.
ACE II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

circuit breaker height


The only problem is if the total distance is too short
If removing the 20" in height means your panel is located in an area under 6' 6" in height that might be a problem

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:01 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

circuit breaker height


Good point, Thanks Dave!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,211
Default

circuit breaker height


Dave, you always have the answer!
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 05:33 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

circuit breaker height


Code specifies a maximum height of the highest breaker. I don't believe it has anything to say about the lowest breaker. So technically it could be right at floor level and still be code.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 06:09 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

circuit breaker height


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Code specifies a maximum height of the highest breaker. I don't believe it has anything to say about the lowest breaker. So technically it could be right at floor level and still be code.
that is correct but Dave brought up a very important point. There is required headroom and clear space around a panel. Raising the floor may cause there it not be enough headroom.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 08:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

circuit breaker height


thanks for the quick response. I was debating on calling an electrican to the house to have it moved. Who knows if he would have told the truth or said that it should be moved just to make some money. ...... but i did measure the space on top and i have like 3.5 ft of room between the box and the ceiling. Currently its a 12 foot ceiling in there but when i put the aub floor in its going to take it down to about 8ft. so i guess im good now i just have to move the water heater. (no way around that) Thanks ALL..
ACE II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 08:18 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

circuit breaker height


if you have 8 feet, it should be fine, until you have to buy shoes. Then it would get pretty expensive.


anyway, make sure the rest of the dimensions are adhered to as well.

30" clear space from side to side at least 3 feet in front of the panel.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get the master circuit breaker properly seated davefoc Electrical 1 03-22-2010 06:17 AM
12 AWG circuit, Breaker 15A, 20A or either? SteveG Electrical 11 05-27-2009 12:05 PM
Dead circuit - Breaker not tripped Anne Electrical 2 08-09-2008 03:29 PM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 06:06 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.