Circuit Breaker Doesn't Trip - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 11:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Light circuit quit working 12 years after house was built (homeowner built, passed state inspections, no problems). Four 2-pole switches, no outlets, grounded. No light works, breaker does not trip (swapped breaker, no change) 115 VAC, breaker to ground/neutral at breaker panel . 115 VAC across switch terminals, on OR off, all four switches. In sockets, 48 VAC when switch is on, 0.2 VAC when switch is off. Doesn't make sense to me. What should I look for now?

Advertisement

harryevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


When you realize 115v across an OFF switch, is there a bulb in the socket?

Advertisement

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Yes, but it isn't lit.
harryevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Where are you placing the probes when measuring at the socket?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:14 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Sound like you have open netural so read the the voltage at the switch by useing one of the hot conductor and ground { bare } you should get 120 volts if so then you have open netural.

To find it you have to check the affected junction box like other switch box or at the recpectale near the switch box.

{ there are some case you may have a hidden juction box which I know some homeowner or other dolt do that and hid the junction box or worst is flying splices both items are illegal per any electrical codes.}

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Wouldn't an open neutral reveal itself at the switch? He has 115v across an open switch.

Unless all 4 light sockets have loose neutral connections at each of their respective pigtails. Unlikely.

Again to OP: where are you placing the probes?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 12:58 AM   #7
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


sounds like open neutral to me also,strange
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:04 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Wouldn't an open neutral reveal itself at the switch? He has 115v across an open switch.

Unless all 4 light sockets have loose neutral connections at each of their respective pigtails. Unlikely.

Again to OP: where are you placing the probes?
Maybe so but if he have 4 single pole switches the quickest way is he have to find the netural connection in the switch box which it will show up majtory of the time unless the OP have 4 switch loops then it will be pain in arse to sort it out so if he did have netural at the switch box I will check both netural and ground to the hot to make sure the reading is correct.

If the OP understand what we are try to do this test and it should not be very hard at the switch box at all.

That is basic 101 either you have it or you don't !

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:13 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 979
Rewards Points: 502
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


If voltage is the same across the switch terminals in either position (on or off), then it strangely sounds like 4 bad switches. They're not closing.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:20 AM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


It will be nice if he posted the photo then we can able indentify it very quick.

For me that should only take couple minutes to verify it { by reading H-G to rule out the open netural that is the only place it may have poor connection on netural.}

To OP did you use the DVM if so they are pretty sentive with ghost voltage so get a test lamp that useally rule it out.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:38 AM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Maybe so but if he have 4 single pole switches the quickest way is he have to find the netural connection in the switch box which it will show up majtory of the time unless the OP have 4 switch loops then it will be pain in arse to sort it out so if he did have netural at the switch box I will check both netural and ground to the hot to make sure the reading is correct.

If the OP understand what we are try to do this test and it should not be very hard at the switch box at all.

That is basic 101 either you have it or you don't !

Merci.
Marc
youve got 4 single pole switches on 1 fixture? they must have differant wiring in canada,it would be rather strange in nebraska!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:54 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
youve got 4 single pole switches on 1 fixture? they must have differant wiring in canada,it would be rather strange in nebraska!
I do not know where the OP is from however with 4 gang switch box 99% of the time I work on them they will always have line et netural there it don't matter if that is in North Americian side or European side the rules still the same.

So that is quick way to tell and I betcha that useally a bad netural connection that is the cuprit. { I get pretty good percentage with bad connection as I mention above like backstabbed receptales or bad wirenut splices that those two are most likely cuprit }

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:00 AM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


no im saying 4 single pole switces connected to same fixture is a little strange,2 3ways and 2 4s on one fixture i can understand
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:09 AM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
no im saying 4 single pole switces connected to same fixture is a little strange,2 3ways and 2 4s on one fixture i can understand
Ahh ok I am getting your point on that the only time I ever see that if you have very large chandler luminaire then it will make sense otherwise .,,

But I will address to the OP the two pole switch is not often used sound like 4 way or three way set up. { the three way switch will have three screw connections while two pole and four way will have 4 screws but both are not interchangeable they function diffrent}

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 02:11 AM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

circuit breaker doesn't trip



Advertisement

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker doesn't trip


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Federal Pacific stab-lock circuit breaker Mike in Arkansas Electrical 4 11-29-2009 10:07 PM
Insulation around a electrical circuit breaker box terpsing Electrical 4 02-03-2009 04:08 PM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 07:06 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 03:44 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts