Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 07:40 PM   #1
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Share |
Question

Circuit Breaker cover


I replaced a circuit breaker with a grand new one today and after turning it on, everything worked properly. However, when I put the breaker wall plate back on, the breaker tripped. Took the wall plate off, and it worked again. This has happened many times with this same breaker, no matter which slot I use in the breaker box.
I left the box open. It is behind a shelf and not easily accessed so I don't see any problem with anyone tampering with it, but wonder if it is safe to keep it open.

Anyone have any idea why the breaker would trip when the face plate is on, yet work fine when the plate is off? Especially when considering that I have moved the breaker to another location in the box. Very confused.

edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:57 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,652
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Quote:
Originally Posted by edscott View Post
I replaced a circuit breaker with a grand new one today...
did you have the problem BEFORE you installed the new breaker?

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Is the box and wall plate metal or plastic?
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Typically, this is because the cover plate for some reason hits the breaker handle and trips it. Check to make sure you've mounted the plate so it doesn't touch the breaker handle. There's often enough slop in the cover plate holes so that you can move the plate around quite a bit and still get the screws in.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


What's a "breaker wall plate"? Are you talking about the outlet box? Is this a GFCI breaker?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:11 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
What's a "breaker wall plate"? Are you talking about the outlet box? Is this a GFCI breaker?
I think it's pretty obvious he's talking about about a load panel and the metal cover. I also think it's likely he isn't with us anymore. Cheers.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:27 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


I would say that one of the screws is hitting a hot wire and tripping the breaker and the breaker panel can't be hidden behind a shelf.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:32 AM   #8
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Yes, I am talking about the metal cover. This problem has happened before, over the last 2 years or so the breaker has tripped numerous times. Eventually the breaker would not work at all. I have checked the wires that are connected to the breaker and they don't seem to be touching any part of the cover. But I will recheck and try again,. Thanks. I will post later.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:51 AM   #9
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Okay, I just checked the cover screws and it seems like one of the screws might be touching a ground wire going across the bottom of the box. I will adjust the ground wires to place them further back in the box. Won't get to this until later in the day. Thanks again for all the help.
edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:52 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


Also breakers that trip repeatedly wear out easily. Could be a short somewhere that you are not seeing.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:22 AM   #11
Ed Scott
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Islip NY USA
Posts: 17
Default

Circuit Breaker cover


I have one followup question which I will access later in the day. One of the suggestions was that it was possible that one of the cover plate screws was hitting a wire. I checked inside the box and none of the wires connecting to the breaker are near the screws, but the ground wires in the bottom of the box may have been touched by one of the screws. Would the screw touching the ground wire cause the breaker to trip?

edscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit works on one breaker and not another kbhcdh Electrical 2 01-12-2013 05:45 PM
Can a Square D 4 pole circuit breaker be used as a 2 pole circuit breaker. TifcoJim Electrical 3 08-23-2011 11:59 PM
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 07:08 PM
Switch triggering GFCI breaker on a DIFFERENT circuit stillmarried Electrical 5 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
Heat pump circuit breaker pbms pinkertonpv HVAC 11 02-18-2009 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.