Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 08:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon, USA, Washington County
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit break wiring question


I have a circuit breaker in my electrical panel that is getting overloaded and tripping frequently. This 15A circuit breaker is feeding a total of 22 outlets, 5 ceiling light fixtures(two light bulbs), and a ceiling fan with 4 light bulbs(3 rooms, a hallway and stairwell). I still have 2 open slots in the electrical panel but when I look at the circuit breaker in the electrical panel I just have 3 wire, the ground, neutral and hot how can I find where all of the sub circuits are getting tied in?

avengerki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Please go back and add your location to your profile. Location can be a big factor when it comes to code related questions. Just go to quick links to edit.
How old is this house?
What type wiring do you have?
Access under the floors or above the ceiling?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:33 AM   #3
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


It will take some busy work to deduce the path of the circuit. Could go to a junction box and split off into different paths from there. (good) Or it could be a string of daisy chained devices from start to finish. (not so good) You will need to figure this out before you can come up with a good plan of attack. It is busy work because you have to open up every outlet, switch and light fixture to see how many sets of conductors are present and do a lot of disconnect reconnect to determine where it is coming from and where it is going to.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon, USA, Washington County
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit break wiring question


How old is this house? Built in 2002
What type wiring do you have? 3 conductor romex I believe can't remember wire size right now
Access under the floors or above the ceiling? Technically I have access from above the ceiling, and have been thinking of making a hatch to have access below also which would allow above access for the first floor.
avengerki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:37 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon, USA, Washington County
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
It will take some busy work to deduce the path of the circuit. Could go to a junction box and split off into different paths from there. (good) Or it could be a string of daisy chained devices from start to finish. (not so good) You will need to figure this out before you can come up with a good plan of attack. It is busy work because you have to open up every outlet, switch and light fixture to see how many sets of conductors are present and do a lot of disconnect reconnect to determine where it is coming from and where it is going to.
I had a feeling that was what would be said. Would the junction box probable location be in the ceiling, wall, or below flooring if there is one?
avengerki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:41 AM   #6
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


15A breaker would make me believe that the circuit or part of it is run in 14ga wire. Do the wires at your service panel all go up into the attic?
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:42 AM   #7
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Junction boxes must be in an accessible place. Attic or crawl space.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
avengerki (11-01-2013)
Old 11-01-2013, 08:43 AM   #8
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


If you can find a JB in the attic that is fed by that breaker then your day just got a whole lot better.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:47 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon, USA, Washington County
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
15A breaker would make me believe that the circuit or part of it is run in 14ga wire. Do the wires at your service panel all go up into the attic?
They all exit at the top of the service panel, whether they all up into the attic from there I hope so but this builder was found to of taken alot of shortcuts and weird decisions.

The problem with the attic is I've got that blown cellulose type insulation like a foot deep.
avengerki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:58 AM   #10
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


I hate crawling around in that stuff too. Buy a decent mask. If you have a hip roof and your panel is in the corner of the house you are in for a rough time when you pull new wires. It is still easier though to make the effort to locate that junction box first if there is one. Get a voltage tic that lights up when you hold it next to a live circuit. They are great for this kind of task. You just turn off the breaker then go up and find the cable that doesn't light it up. This can be either your feed or a switch loop. Follow it to the JB or where it goes back down. It could also go straight to a ceiling fixture too in which case that is ground zero.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:04 AM   #11
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,524
Rewards Points: 730
Default

Circuit break wiring question


If it goes down into a wall then to a switch it may just be switch loop. You would need to go down and open up that switch to see if has just one set of wires in it. If so it is just a switch loop. Otherwise it is feeding other devices and the you just keep pecking away until you have a drawing of of the entire circuit.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:15 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Circuit break wiring question


This is where a walkey talky and a non contact tester to narrow things down comes in handy and two people.
Gets old going up and down all day.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
avengerki (11-01-2013)
Old 11-01-2013, 09:19 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oregon, USA, Washington County
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
This is where a walkey talky and a non contact tester to narrow things down comes in handy and two people.
Gets old going up and down all day.
Yep, last time I went up there to look for something I wound up yelling to my step-son and he didn't always understand what I said so he went up and down. It was great division of labor though.
avengerki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 10:14 AM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,166
Rewards Points: 2,242
Default

Circuit break wiring question


I doubt there us a JB in the attic. More likely the circuit just goes from device box to device box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
k_buz (11-02-2013), Philly Master (11-13-2013), Speedy Petey (11-03-2013)
Old 11-01-2013, 10:23 AM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,818
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

Circuit break wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I doubt there us a JB in the attic. More likely the circuit just goes from device box to device box.
X2. Junction boxes really aren't used in the newer wiring styles.

Instead of trying to split the circuit, try to install a new circuit where needed. It sounds like you have too much load plugged in.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
k_buz (11-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about wiring A/C to circuit panel? word2yamutha Electrical 18 09-05-2013 05:12 PM
Replacing Cooktop, Circuit Amperage Question diverdave Electrical 23 07-20-2013 10:54 AM
New wiring tripping breaker on another circuit? Kinggofg Electrical 11 04-26-2012 02:36 AM
Main Circuit Breaker Question vladmir1111 Electrical 2 08-20-2011 09:15 PM
Circuit Size Question techinstructor Electrical 12 06-28-2009 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.