Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2011, 02:42 PM   #31
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


This heater from what I can understand needs two switched hot wires. One for the fan and one for the lamps. So you need two switches to operate it.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
mustangmike3789 (04-19-2011)
Old 04-25-2011, 11:07 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


I called nutone and they confirmed that only one switch is needed. I am here now and I tried to hook it up using one of the pieces of romex and it didn't work. I capped that one and used the other and it worked, but wouldn't turn off and the other 2 switches for the fan and vanity light dud nothing, so I guess I need to use all four, just need to find the right combo. Right?
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 01:06 PM   #33
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


The cable that did nothing sounds like the switch leg.
The cable you are attached to now that won't turn off is the power feed.
In the ceiling.
Take the white from the switch cable and connect it to the other black from the power line in the box.
Take the white from the fixture and connect to the white from the power line in the box.
Take the light fixture black and connect to the black from the switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 01:21 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Ok. Thanks. I'm away from the fixture right now but will try it in a few hours. Again, thanks for you help as well as everyone who has commented.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:03 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Ok. Just connected it that way and turned the power back on with the switch off and the fan is running and one bulb is on then when I turn the switch in the other bulb goes on.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:17 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Ok. I screwed up. I got it working now. Thanks so much for your time and patience.
joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:50 PM   #37
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


This has to be one of the longest posts to figure out a switch loop but glad you stuck with it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:58 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Circuit blows when i turn off switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
This has to be one of the longest posts to figure out a switch loop but glad you stuck with it.
Haha. Yeah, but it all worked out.

joeg679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Add a separate switch to a 3way circuit skyhigh82 Electrical 3 03-23-2009 11:21 AM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.